Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST"for Beginners, Simplicity Itself No Gimmick's, Exactly as stated and more.
With this item you can't go wrong, It is EXACTLY as stated and far more. Teaching mainly by diagram's showing exactly where fingers should be on the frets with relevant written text where necessary.
To avoid the sense of simply learning a vast number of cords and "Getting nowhere fast" this book incorporates simple songs which can be played after learning a few...
Published on 2 Dec 2007 by A Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good place to start
Played my first song in about 35 minutes even though it was only two chords. Pretty pleased with my efforts.
Published 14 months ago by BobD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST"for Beginners, Simplicity Itself No Gimmick's, Exactly as stated and more., 2 Dec 2007
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
With this item you can't go wrong, It is EXACTLY as stated and far more. Teaching mainly by diagram's showing exactly where fingers should be on the frets with relevant written text where necessary.
To avoid the sense of simply learning a vast number of cords and "Getting nowhere fast" this book incorporates simple songs which can be played after learning a few simple cords and having gained enough confidence to alternate between them without difficulty. Therefore giving the new guitarist the conviction that they are really achieving something and increasing the desire to learn and practise. With every few new cords leaned you find another song slightly more difficult incorporating all the cords learned thus far.
The diagrams shown are perfectly clear and simple to follow in a way there cannot be any misunderstanding, the text also written in the same clear, concise way. This book instills confidence in the beginner encouraging them every step of the way. Yes, i had read the synopsis on this book and researched it as much as i was able but in honesty this was all i had to go off having only a vague idea of what i was searching for.
Should you be looking for a Beginners book to "Learning Guitar" i cannot praise this book highly enough and at a price to suit all i recommend this book without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
This book is well laid out and easy to follow. The illustrations are excellent.
I would recommend this book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Husband!, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Monica Underwood (Boston, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
I bought this item as part of my husband's Christmas present, and he was very pleased with it. It is clear and concise, and it is easy to understand and follow. For people who need to learn visually, rather than being taught verbally, it is really helpful. When combined with more traditional teaching material, it can enable the student to visualise what is being said much more easily. It came in good time as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very easy to understand guide, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
this book was a very uncomplicated and was easy enough for beginners to understand. It shows all the chords & will help all budding musicians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good place to start, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
Played my first song in about 35 minutes even though it was only two chords. Pretty pleased with my efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars useless, better google images your first chord, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
I bought this book as i really needed a guide which tells me where exactly i put my hands, etc, but it contains only like 6 chords, more like a summary not a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok but disapointing, 29 Sep 2009
By 
S. Green (Hampshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
This book was severely disapointing not in its approach which was as advertised and based on pictures of where to place your fingers but the disapointment comes in the scope.

I was expecting more than just a few basic chords to be covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars picture guide to playing the guitar, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
The book is clear in explaining how to play the guitar and the pictures are helpful, I found the book was extremely useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book for first timers, 20 April 2009
By 
L. A. Claybrough "mother of two" (Pontefract, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
bought this book for my son who wants to learn how to play and its just perfect clear pictures and easy to follow steps to learn how to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really basic, but a must for a very first time guitar player, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Guide to Playing Guitar (Paperback)
the title says it all.
It is basic and thin, but it is everything you need for a first time guitarist. the description and pictures are very clear and consise. It helped me find the right finger placing for my first chords.
worth the few pounds for a very beginner.
Don't get me wrong it can't replace proper teaching, but it is a good base to start from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6fae7a4)

This product

Picture Guide to Playing Guitar
Picture Guide to Playing Guitar by Arthur Dick (Paperback - 1 Dec 1998)
5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews