Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Mod was and is different for everybody!
Wow! What a book! I only bought it 3 days ago, and I've read it twice already! Being a Mod for me was a way of life and a fashion. I was lucky enough to be part of the 80's Mod Revival, and reading the book brought it all back. I agree with Roman's views about the music though. But, what Roman didn't pick up from the book, is the fact that any comment on any part of the...
Published on 24 April 2002

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One view of mod only I'm afraid
An interesting book and worth owning - until you get to 1979! I suspect Terry Rawlings doesn't like or know anything about black music since the whole last section of the book is a concerted attempt to downplay the vital importance of soul/r'n'b events to the mod lifestlye. Yes, bands like the Chords were a big deal for about 10 seconds but then (thank god) anyone with an...
Published on 24 Jan 2007 by Finger-poppin' Daddy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Mod was and is different for everybody!, 24 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Wow! What a book! I only bought it 3 days ago, and I've read it twice already! Being a Mod for me was a way of life and a fashion. I was lucky enough to be part of the 80's Mod Revival, and reading the book brought it all back. I agree with Roman's views about the music though. But, what Roman didn't pick up from the book, is the fact that any comment on any part of the Mod movement is subjective. So, keeping that in mind, I give the book 5 out of 5.
Off to buy a Vespa (again!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One view of mod only I'm afraid, 24 Jan 2007
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
An interesting book and worth owning - until you get to 1979! I suspect Terry Rawlings doesn't like or know anything about black music since the whole last section of the book is a concerted attempt to downplay the vital importance of soul/r'n'b events to the mod lifestlye. Yes, bands like the Chords were a big deal for about 10 seconds but then (thank god) anyone with an ounce of taste and sense discovered that 60s soul and r'n'b was really where it was at - and you didn't have to be an elitist to get into it contrary to what some think. The guy should have interviewed someone like Randy Cozens for a proper view of things. And, Terry, mods actually did exist in large numbers outside London!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book on the Mod movement, 13 Feb 2008
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
This is the ideal follow up to Richard Barnes' Mods and is a well written record of the Mod movement. Forget the views of the elitists who make comments about the "appalling 1979 revival" - if it wasn't for that revival and the bands that led it there would have been no Mod scene in the 80's or 90's - something that those who are quick to condemn are quick to overlook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mod reading under Mod scrutiny, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
I pre-ordered this book on first publication, read it straight through and have read it twice since. So, as much as I could possibly find fault with some angles, omissions, pro -southern attitude etc, the proof is in the above statement: it's a damned good read.
I have long since given up on the hope that anyone can faithfully capture the Mod phenomenon in 100% accuracy and down to the last detail both within the literature world and more noticably onscreen (Quadrophenia is a great film, it entertains, it thrills it's a bloody good attempt - but no self respecting Mod inclined fella or lass would ever consider it the real deal as far as Mod is concerned - but it's there for all to enjoy)...digressing slightly there, but I feel that these points should be taken into consideration when addressing anything Mod inclined. A previous reviewer (or three!) states very correctly that Mod means so much to many different people. This coffeee table designated tomb carries within it's pages a good proportion of what Mod has meant over the last 50 years or more to a varied set of Modernist generations. On that note it succeeds and it certainly has kept me hooked for three enjoyable reads.
Mods!

the accounts and experiences, along with many exclusive previously unpublished photos of The Jam, Paul Weller, Steve Marriot, Secret Affair, Specials and 80's Mod Rallies is chronicled in This is Our Generation Calling: Punk and Mod in and Around Sheffield - The Conclusion

Our Generation: The Punk and Mod Children of Sheffield, Rotherham and Doncaster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 28 Jun 2004
By 
ex Sydney Mod (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Most Mods & ex Mods can appreciate that everyone had a different take on mod and had preferences with music, fashion, scooters etc, especially as they got older and wiser(?).
An honest book which illustrated how and why many people did get involved, particularly in regards to the Revival. Not everyone (post '79) was an R'n'B stylist or elitist. Good to hear from people who were integral in the revival who don't usually get a look in because they're ignored. Well, maybe these people WERE the PIONEERS of the 80's Mod....like it or not, at least it weren't overlooked.
Actually loved the photo's of the average mod, parka and all...'cos that's what most Mods were, particularly in the early days and to pretend everyone was into jazz, obscure R'n'B, coffee shops and hand made shoes wouldn't be accurate.
Was the "Mashed Potato" (or the like) really something the average (70's/ early 80's) Mod would do? That's correct, no.
That's why this book gets away from the usual delusions and shows it warts, and quite often poor dress sense, and all. Aggressive guitar music and pub rock were a big part of the early 80's to alot of Mods...and this book unashamedly acknowledges these FACTS. Also, many 60's artists that aren't usually spoken of at length were given coverage. Good to get an outsiders (like promoters, Club Owners and record company's) perspective as well.
I can confidently say that The Purple Hearts & The Chords had more in common with your average youngster getting into the scene in the late 70's / early 80's than any rare soul tune.
Could have mentioned a few of the other bands, but other than that, can't knock it.
How can the American Reviewer slag something that they weren't part of? How would a San Francisco reader know what was happening in London late 70's ?!?!?!? THE POINT, with giving a nod to Primal Scream and The Stone Roses was showing that bands from another era, without actually claiming to be mod, were influenced by their predecessors of a similar style....and were seen by some as more 'mod' (and better) than the self proclaimed mod bands of the Revival and mid eighties...The Risk!!??!!...gimme a break.
How can anyone who called themselves a mod knock this book?
Nice work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for an aging Mod, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Bought for my Dad and sparked a feast of reminising. He is very happy with it and now plans to my another scooter and lots of chrome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pics and read , five stars, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Brought this for my partner who was a mod in 70 s 80 s , he thought fab book and brought back a lot of memories, he said would recommend to any mod now in their over fourties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Mod, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Terry Rawlings' 'Mod - A Very British Phenomenon' is one of only a handful of excellent books on the Mod subculture.

This book is beautifully illustrated and contains much new material via interviews with original participants of the scene from the late 50s onwards. Richard Barnes provides an excellent introduction to the book before Terry takes us through the beginnings of Modern Jazz in the UK and the uptake in the new Rhythm & Blus scene in terms of music and clubs along with the all important details of how a small number of stylish individuals gave birth to a whole scene (and its said development). There are focuses on the bands the scene spawned as well as the scooters and clubs and this all makes for very interesting reading and brings new knowledge of the scene to us. This is clearly written by someone who is not only part of the scene himself but has a real passion for, what to many of us, is a way of life.

Although 75% of the book is quite rightly dedicated to the original scene, Terry also devotes the final quarter of his book to the revival period (Quadrophenia,The Jam, The Chords, Purple Hearts, Secret Affair, Nine Below Zero, Eddie Piller, Modzines etc) and beyond (Makin Time, The Prisoners, James Taylor Quartet, Countdown Records) which is a refreshing change for those of us that were there (and normally get overlooked by the many ill-informed commentators writing about our scene).

Highly recommended and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all mods scooter boys etc, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book contains some great photo's from the 60's and mod revival of the 70's good articles on all aspects of modism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 60s nostalgia, 3 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon (Paperback)
A wonderful read for those who, like myself, were part of the 60s mod phenomenon.
Admittedly I was more of an enthusiastic onlooker than fully paid-up participant , but this book brings it all back and is thoroughly researched , well designed and full of terrific colour photos.
A must for those who lived through it and for those others who find the whole era fascinating.

For readers who want to carry on exploring, I would recommend 'Ready Steady Go!' by Shawn Levy and Colin MacInnes's masterly novel-'Absolute Beginners'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mod: Clean Living Under Very Difficult Circumstances - A Very British Phenomenon
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews