Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable & Challenging Material, 31 Aug. 2007
By 
G. Dodds "Glen Lyndon Dodds" (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
As a teacher I use John Thompson's easiest piano course with almost all of my pupils and the majority of them enjoy using his books.

Some of the first pieces in this book are easier than the concluding ones in book two but the level of difficulty soon increases and the last pieces are in E flat major and A major (in other words there are three flats and three sharps respectively).

The pieces are generally more tuneful than many of those found in other courses. Moreover, although the left hand sometimes plays chords it often is given a more interesting role.

On the negative side, the book is less attractively presented than books one and two. The illustrations are not as colourful and there are fewer of them. Moreover, the page layout is less appealing for the notes are smaller and thus harder to read.

Most of my pupils thus prefer to use copies of the original classic 1950s edition which has more illustrations (albeit in black and white) and is easier to read. New copies of the original edition (and new copies of the other original books in the series) are available from chappellofbondstreet.co.uk. You can of course also try ordering them from your local music shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Thompson's - Easiest Piano Course (part 3) By John Thompson, 30 Mar. 2010
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
This purchase has been a good blessing for our Daughter - who wants to learn all aspects of Music, (piano esp). Books one and two are good and easy to understand, whilst making it interesting and book three follows the same route - just harder!!. The fact that you can learn to play a simple piece as well as having the tutor play the harmony - gives any child or adult a boost to carry on. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With CD - do not buy, 12 May 2009
By 
Anthony Whitfield "Tony Whitfield" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
Ther are two versions of this book, the only difference is that one comes with a 'Training CD'. The book is very good, the CD is pretty awful. Most tunes are played at different speeds, but with absolutely terrible additional backing. This is just not needed, and makes it very difficult to hear what you want to hear, the piano. Save some money, buy the book only version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely way to learn piano, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
I have 2 copies of this book (one is more than 50 years old!). Although most of the pieces are the same it has been modernised well. It's helpful as a parent because there is lots of explanation - to enable you to help your child. Nice pictures / diagrams so keeps the interest of small children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
I am the parent of an aspiring young musician. I purchased all three of the first books together. The books where on recommendation of the piano teacher. We find them challenging but with the right degree of fun mixed in. Especially with the fun way the tutor takes advantage of the very amusing 'crooked crotchet characters' (our fun nickname for them). We do like the landscape A4 size. Sits on the music stand very well. Over all an excellent learning tool. We look forward to needing more. And at the rate she progresses and gets hooked it won't be long. Five lessons and already almost completed book two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars piano learning, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Margaret Mt Tillott "musician" (Kidderminster,Worcs,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
My granddaughter should find these books an entertaining way of learning the piano.They look even more fun than the same series purchased when I was teaching her mum and uncle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for school tuition, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
good books that keep the pupil interested.
used in conjunction with the teaching of the piano during lessons in school time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great books, very simple to follow, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
Great books, very simple to follow. My son uses these books for school lessons and has progressed well with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Thompson, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was great my children loved it ,it look if was brand new I loved it as well as my wife
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 (Paperback)
Very easy to follow for young children, colourful, interesting.Good value for money
Worth buying,suitable for any age.
Part of a well developed series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3
John Thompson's Easiest Piano Course, Part 3: Bk.3 by John Thompson (Paperback - 18 Oct. 2003)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews