Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Blues book
I've been teaching myself for 2 years and have bought over 20 books. For blues, this is the best. The songs are not famous, but the instruction finally taught me to bend. The exercises and CD took me through steps, from simple to more advanced, that accelerated my blues range and speed. After working with this book, blues riffs from other sources became easier.
Published on 9 May 1999

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point but this book needs better proofing
Like most harmonica books you will need a C scale Harmonica if you want to play along with the CD.

This book does what it sets out to but be prepared to use it along side other resorces. I'd recommend going on line and looking at free lessons on youtube. Try 'Modern Blues Harmonica' or 'freeharmoniclessons'. The section on developing your embouchure for those...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by Anton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Blues book, 9 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
I've been teaching myself for 2 years and have bought over 20 books. For blues, this is the best. The songs are not famous, but the instruction finally taught me to bend. The exercises and CD took me through steps, from simple to more advanced, that accelerated my blues range and speed. After working with this book, blues riffs from other sources became easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blowing (and drawing) hard...., 10 Aug 2008
By 
Shane Slade (Sevenoaks, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
Just a line to fully endorse the first reviewer. I have always wanted to play a musical instrument but found the piano and guitar required a manual dexterity that defeated me. However this book contains an excellent CD which encourages you to copy the pieces played, against the backdrop of a good supporting band. I have mastered the playlist in just five months and am now looking to expand my knowledge and perhaps try and play a chromatic harp also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point but this book needs better proofing, 30 Mar 2009
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
Like most harmonica books you will need a C scale Harmonica if you want to play along with the CD.

This book does what it sets out to but be prepared to use it along side other resorces. I'd recommend going on line and looking at free lessons on youtube. Try 'Modern Blues Harmonica' or 'freeharmoniclessons'. The section on developing your embouchure for those single notes which is essential is rather limited. I needed more than this book gave.

My only gripe is that the blow and draw arrows on some notes are wrong. It's not a great problem if you can read music or if you know the song/melody you are trying to play but if you don't it could be an issue. That said if you stick with this book you'll get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I am learning to play, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
I have not had the opportunity to go through the book but at first glance I may have chosen the wrong book, there is little in there that I know and so will have little help in knowing what I play is what the music sounds like. Maybe I should read music to a higher standard that would then help me to be certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its a good starting place for blues if you can get those bends, 13 Feb 2014
By 
DaveRR1 (Greater Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
I gave it 4 stars because like most blues books it takes you almost strait in to bending notes but for beginners this will only come with time. You can't play blues without the bends but its a great book to have when you do start getting those bends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not for beginners, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
This book is to fast,the programs need to be explained better than they are and more content for each lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband who wanted to learn a new instrument and it's really good guidance for learning the basic techniques. He doesn't read music though so the music script isn't too much help but he still seems to use all the other methods within the book in a positive way to support his learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
Got this for a friend who is learning the harmonica and this is ideal,it explains it in a way that is easy to understand and follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fair tutor, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
Not bad, interesting techniques. A bit limited for practise tunes. It does point you in the right direction. If followed you could at least be competent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners (Paperback)
Very dissapointed with the content of the illustration, it doesnt brake things down to an acceptable level for beginners, very dissapointed to say the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners
Blues Harp from Scratch: Blues Harmonica for Absolute Beginners by Mich Kinsella (Paperback - 1 Jan 1998)
£7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews