Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I play this music again and again and again!
I've always liked the music of Michael Nyman, and his soundtrack to "The Piano" is probably his best. This is mostly because it is the "nicest" and most commercially "normal" (some of his other scores are rather more "minimal" and are definitely an acquired taste).
This book contains 6 of the tracks from the film and pretty much cover all the film's beautiful themes...
Published on 2 Mar. 2004 by Noisy Neighbour

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars background film music
I was disappointed with the music as it did contain the main theme tune that is played throughout the film
Published on 20 Feb. 2013 by rickie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I play this music again and again and again!, 2 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
I've always liked the music of Michael Nyman, and his soundtrack to "The Piano" is probably his best. This is mostly because it is the "nicest" and most commercially "normal" (some of his other scores are rather more "minimal" and are definitely an acquired taste).
This book contains 6 of the tracks from the film and pretty much cover all the film's beautiful themes. The easiest, for my novice fingers, is "Big My Secret" - after a month or two of constant practice I've pretty much mastered it! And it was no chore learning it either - it's the nicest and most rewarding piece I've ever learnt!
The other stand-out piece for me is "The Heart Asks Pleasure First", although I'm finding this a little more tricky. I look forward to several more months perfecting it. Well worth having a copy of the soundtrack on CD to listen to before you play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful piano music that's not simplified, 12 Dec. 2008
By 
Ms. Mairi Duncan "MairiD" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
This is the perfect book for people who love the music from "The Piano" and want to play the correct music on the piano. This book is not simplified for the novice player so the music is exactly as it sounds on the soundtrack. The music is difficult to master but once you do it is trully worth it. I'd definitly recommend this to any piano player. The music pieces chosen for the book are beautiful.

Get the soundtrack here Nyman - The Piano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Piano, 1 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
I did not feel very confident to buy this book at first as I thought it may be a little too challenging for me to learn from after passing grade five 21 years ago and not playing the piano since. Instead it has been much easier than I thought and It helps to have the pieces available to listen to first. (You can find them on You Tube)
This is a very special collection of music and a pleasure to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love playing The Heart Asks Pleasure First, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
Ms T - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
In total, there are 6 pieces included in this book:
1. Big my secret
2. The mood that passes through you
3. Deep sleep playing
4. Silver-fingered fling
5. The attraction of the pedalling ankle
6. The heart asks pleasure first

I bought this mostly for the most famous piece, "The Heart Asks Pleasure First", and in hindsight, it may have been better value just to buy this piece separately since I find I don't really play the other songs in this book. But having said that, the book was worth it if only for the joy I got from playing this one piece. The arrangement for this is 6 pages long, about grade 4-5 standard would be my guess (I'm Grade 5 myself), and it's beautiful! It's not a watered down easy-to-play version, it sounds really good and impressive like it sounds in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theme tune is included, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
I was worried as another review said the theme tune wasn't included but it is and am looking forward to trying to play it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pieces., 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
There are some beautiful pieces of music in this book as you will know if you have seen the film. My daughter is a great fan of Ludovico Einaudi and this misic is very similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i wanted!, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
The recipient had asked for this and I found it easily on Amazon. I do not know the piece so cannot comment furthe5r.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Piano - Michael Nyman, 29 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
this book is excellent, especially for the experienced player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pieces from the Piano, 15 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Pieces from The Piano (Paperback)
I love this music and so desperately hope I can learn to play it myself now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pieces from The Piano
Pieces from The Piano by Michael Nyman (Paperback - 6 Nov. 1993)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews