Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs an update
I read this book cover to cover one weekend and found it to be an invaluable resource. Unfortunately it appears to be stuck in a timewarp and fails to cover any developments since the 70s. This is great if you want to repair a classic Fender or Gibson but not so good when it comes to modern instruments. For example it doesn't cover the configuration of a standard Alpha 5...
Published on 12 Jan. 2008 by Ian Robinson

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good general introduction but not enough detail.
Maybe I expect a bit too much from our well respected gurus like Donald and Dan Erlewine but I would have liked to see a bit more detail in this book.
Why, for instance, is there half a column of text (With a picture) concerning one of the most important components that affect tone, the capacitor, while on the next page there is a WHOLE column devoted to the "Lore of...
Published on 26 Sept. 2005 by Audioduck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs an update, 12 Jan. 2008
By 
Ian Robinson "Gornergrat" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
I read this book cover to cover one weekend and found it to be an invaluable resource. Unfortunately it appears to be stuck in a timewarp and fails to cover any developments since the 70s. This is great if you want to repair a classic Fender or Gibson but not so good when it comes to modern instruments. For example it doesn't cover the configuration of a standard Alpha 5 way selector switch or the workings of a modern Ceramic pickup, and totally ignores active electronics. Despite the gripe I still refer to it for guidance on phase switching and coil taps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Guitar Electronics Comprehensive Guide, 20 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
Do you know what the Humbucker pickups on your axe do or how they work? Do the bass notes boom on your classic Stratocaster? What capacitor is needed in a 1955 Gibson Les Paul TV Model? What is the best method for installing a Barcus Berry pickup on that acoustic? What new hot pickups should I add to my 1973 Telecaster Custom to get that special sound?
These questions are not always easy to answer. Generally, finding an true expert at your local guitar shop is not always possible. Guitar Electronics for Musicians answers these questions and more. GEfM details the history of guitar electronics as well as a tremendous amount of information of a guitars workings. You can learn enough to really quiz the person entrusted with upgrading, fixing or otherwise modifying the electronics of your instrument.
Guitar Electronics for Musicians is a reference that should be included at the time of purchase of any Fender, Gibson, Gretsch, Dan Electro, etc., guitar. It is a must read for anyone interested in what makes an electric guitar work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guitar electronics for musicians, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
Trevor Jones (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
This book explains in detail the electronic components that you will find inside a typical electric guitar. It also explains the purpose and function of each component. I was very impressed with this book and continue to use it as a source of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good general introduction but not enough detail., 26 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
Maybe I expect a bit too much from our well respected gurus like Donald and Dan Erlewine but I would have liked to see a bit more detail in this book.
Why, for instance, is there half a column of text (With a picture) concerning one of the most important components that affect tone, the capacitor, while on the next page there is a WHOLE column devoted to the "Lore of Gibson Knobs"?
This is supposed to be a book about guitar electronics. The knobs stuff is mildly interesting but why not keep it for an appendix?
There are a few of these annoyances scattered throughout the book and frankly, I expected more from such an experienced and knowledgable source as Donald.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for people who want to fix it themself!, 4 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
Teaches and shows you everthing you need to know on installing, or fixing your pick-ups, puting a finish in your guitar, or keeping your neck from cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, well expained, took mystery out of guit electronics, 2 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
I am a guitar player who picked up this book a few years ago and it has been my electronics bible ever since. I used the information to repair some of my guitars and eventually to shape the sound I wanted out of them. I now know what to look for in guitar gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Mess Your Guitar Up And Then Fix It, 3 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
All you need to know about hot-rodding your guitar with as many switches and knobs as you like,
OR
How to fix the wiring on your vintage Les Paul or Strat.

I've had this book for 20 years and although it's in need of an update it's still the only book I'd recommend on guitar electrics. Lots of good basic info on pickups, switching etc and a great collection of wiring diagrams of classic and standard electric guitars.

I agree with other reviewers, it does have a bit of a 70's vibe about it, but for me, that only adds to its appeal!
Suffice to say, 20 years on and I'm still using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but flawed, 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Mark Vardy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
This began life as a ring bound, privately published, amateur publication, and it shows. Brosnac has a good reputation in guitar circles, and there's lots of useful information in the book - somewhere. Unfortunately it is obscured by an atrocious structure, so that descriptions of similar aspects of circuitry are in completely different chapters. It reads more like a scrap book of notes, clippings and articles that the author assembled over several years and then published as-is. It is also very out-of-date, although this matters slightly less because guitar electronics has moved on little, in general, in the thirty years since this was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is THIRTY years old!, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
I mean c'mon guys, something like 'Guitar Electronics for Musicians' should really be more up to date. The fact that this book is THIRTY! years old is a joke.
No mention of ANY of the big pickup companies like Seymour Duncan or EMG never mind cutting edge new companies like Bare Knuckle in the UK or Harmonic Design in California.
This book is WAY out of date and that should be made clear to any potential customers prior to buying it.
As someone else has clearly pointed out, only buy this for a basic understanding of guitar electronics. Almost everything else therein is utterly useless to the modern day guitar or bass player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty dire. Lot of useful detail but also an ..., 27 April 2015
By 
This review is from: Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) (Paperback)
Pretty dire. Lot of useful detail but also an awful lot of misconceived notions based upon received wisdom and tropes which have been accepted unquestioningly by the culpably ignorant. Stuff like this only perpetuates misconceptions. The problem is, how is the ingénue to distinguish between the two? If one claims to write with authority, one must be an authority. Regardless of putative credentials Brosnac ain’t. He is equipped I’m afraid with only a glimmer of understanding but doesn’t appear to be aware of this. My copy is littered with score-outs, corrections and exasperated expletives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference)
Guitar Electronics for Musicians (Guitar Reference) by Donald Brosnac (Paperback - 1 Dec. 1983)
£16.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews