Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple UK focused guide to GPS
This is a reasonably up to date guide to the fast moving world of GPS that reveals what you can and can't do with your gps. For the UK user this will help you make some sense of settings, grid systems and the differences between waypoints, trackpoints and routes. It shows how much is available on the internet to enable you to use your gps to its maximum. The book is a...
Published on 11 July 2008 by P. Coates

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Previous reviews have been very good for this but unfortunately I did not find it so.
It is written for a Garmin etrex H which I have but it tells me all the obvious things & not how to really use it.
If you are a REAL novice to maps perhaps it is OK
The Garmin instructions for the old model (not the present one) which are still available on line are nearly...
Published on 23 Oct. 2011 by A. E. Roberts


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
This is a good introduction to getting started with my Dakota 10. I just couldn't have got on with the Dakota 10 without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful information for walkers, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
M. T. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
I wanted to get to know about walking with GPS machines and this book gave me all I needed to know plus. Well written and easy to follow without too many technical details. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starter book, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
For those starting on the GPS trail a great booklet go for it. Amerson requests more words but more are not necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful publication, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Dr. N. WOODRUFF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
As a late comer to GPS for walking navigation it's an essential item for greater understanding and using my gps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars route planning ?, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
it helped me as a total beginner, but after reading and re-reading I still haven't got the very basics of using it with a computer, put in way marks,plot a route. naa. doesn't work for me. maybe its the garmin. maybe its me but after hours of playing I still cant download a route. unfortunately this book does not help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 26 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
Bought this as I did not understand GPS

Excellent book, easy to read.

I wouldn't claim to be an expert now, but I am more knowledgeable thanks to this book

Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely perfect !, 21 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
I've been walking the same route for about a year and went out and treated myself to a GPS (the Garmin Dakota 20). I couldn't work out how to use it.....

I then bought this book, and it explains everything a newcomer like me needed to know about GPS for walking.

The book is VERY current and up-to-date in the fast moving areana of GPS devices for Walkers, and I was very grateful for that.

I can thoroughly recommend this book - it isn't very expensive, and it's a very quick and interesting read (I read mine in a couple of hours).

Totally clued up now and ready to move onto the next step, being buying some maps for my GPS device, sorting out some great walks nearby and getting out there !

Have fun !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 26 July 2011
By 
P. Wellings "96 Rifles" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
Very concise and easy to follow. I've owned a ETREX H for 3 years but found the product instructions confusing. This book simplifies everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK as an Introduction, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
I. Evans (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
Purchased as recommended and good as a basic introduction but perhaps I was hoping for a bit more than the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide) (Paperback)
Good book, great for a beginner to GPS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GPS for Walkers: An Introduction to Gps,Digital Maps and Geocaching (Pathfinder Guide)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews