Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transports you there
Really great book with fabulous pictures and interesting stories about local weavers. It is really a coffee table book and I would have liked to have read about the mills and the weaving itself in more detail. The author had spent a year on Harris but I don't think they were a weaver so missed a lot of areas that would have interested us fellow weavers.
Published 2 months ago by elisabeth kendrick

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea shame about the execution
The much loved Harris Tweed jacket is provided with an enjoyable historical context. The photographs however are bland lacking in atmosphere and as most of the book is visually led this is a big part of the book. A real pity this could have been a great project.
Published 23 months ago by Mr. N. E. Brewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea shame about the execution, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The much loved Harris Tweed jacket is provided with an enjoyable historical context. The photographs however are bland lacking in atmosphere and as most of the book is visually led this is a big part of the book. A real pity this could have been a great project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jan 2012
By 
F. Jones (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful to see this industry and the tweed itself getting some interest and to hear that times have got a little better. I hope the publication of this book can help to support a long future for this way of life and the end product. But ...

In a photographic description, the text is obviously secondary but I feel there is a wasted opportunity here. There is not enough technical detail for me and too many parts of the process are left unexplained. Some background on geography and more on crofting would also have been interesting and a couple of maps would be helpful. The text is large and there is lots of space; there would have been plenty of room for more words on the production processes, the lives of those involved and the islands.

However, the bigger disappointment is the pictures. Lovely as they are they do not do justice to the beauty of these islands. The big pictures on the endpapers are flat, dull, out of focus in some cases and poorly printed. One has what appears to be three power cables running across the view. The printing quality improves inside but composition, sun glare, and focussing spoil many detracting from the good ones. For example, a picture of a lamb, face centred but made purple by glare and the focus sharper on its rear end than its face. When I visited the Hebrides I was struck by the light, brightness and colour even in appalling weather but this book does not get that across.

So this is neither coffee table photography, nor a very informative read but it is interesting. It gives you an introduction to a fascinating process and an underappreciated product but it could have done so much more. It feels like a souvenir or something the featured tailors might show their customers. I will enjoy it as a reminder of my trip but I'm glad I didn't pay the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transports you there, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great book with fabulous pictures and interesting stories about local weavers. It is really a coffee table book and I would have liked to have read about the mills and the weaving itself in more detail. The author had spent a year on Harris but I don't think they were a weaver so missed a lot of areas that would have interested us fellow weavers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is not a picture book of the north of Scotland and I think the photographs of the landscape are good., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harris Tweed: From Land to Street (Paperback)
I can't understand criticisms of the photography. This book is about the production of Harris Tweed and the people who make the fabric and the animals which provide the wool. It is not a picture book of the north of Scotland and I think the photographs of the landscape are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT BOOK, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I SAW THIS BOOK IN A LOCAL STORE AND OPENED IT TO SEE SOME FANTASTIC PICTURES AND A GREAT LAYOUT BUT OVERPRICED WAS HAPPY TO FIND IT ON AMAZON SEVEN QUID CHEAPER HAPPY DAYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely photography, informative., 24 May 2012
By 
Frank Dernie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, it gives a broad insight into the lives of the people and the geography of the island where this interesting fabric is made, all illustrated by lovely photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harris Tweed: From Land to Street
Harris Tweed: From Land to Street by Lara Platman (Paperback - 6 Mar 2014)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews