Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative
Excellently written compact book with very nice photos of parts of hidden London. Zena Alkayat captures spirit of these little enclaves of London away from the usual tourist hotspots. It encourages you to go out and explore this great and varied city. I first heard about this book on Robert Elms BBC London 94.9 show and highly recommend it to any who wants explore and...
Published 12 months ago by Entropy

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No more than a little coffee table book
I bought this book to get to know more about London's hidden gems. The book has a card stock like cover so it's easy to flip through, although it is smaller in dimensions than I expected. It's pretty with lots of pictures but very succinct in the descriptions. The "navigation" is mostly frustrating as the table of contents shows numbered areas laid out on a map,...
Published 13 months ago by millawitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
Excellently written compact book with very nice photos of parts of hidden London. Zena Alkayat captures spirit of these little enclaves of London away from the usual tourist hotspots. It encourages you to go out and explore this great and varied city. I first heard about this book on Robert Elms BBC London 94.9 show and highly recommend it to any who wants explore and support independent retailers. Zena should write other books for the other cities in the UK, which I am sure have village enclaves of there own worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
What a lovely little book. So full of places to go and see that i never even knew was there. A lovely size book not to small full of wonderful pictures with the quality of the book and paper excellent. A pleasure to look at and read and cant wait to go and now find all this lovely places. If you love London and enjoy wandering around finding new places which are not on the map then this book is perfect. Also makes a lovely gift for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars visiting London - U need this book, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
all the details and information you require for an in-depth appreciation of the great city.

best of all, you do not have to finish the book on the first visit. use it sparingly to gain the most and best rewards.

by the time the book has been exhausted - you start again, as places will have changed too some extent.

a long term read to parts of the metropolis that you never knew existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly lovely, 23 Feb. 2015
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
This may be small in size, but everything about it is just delightful. It's impossible to read this book without being swept away by the knowledge and passion of the writer. Everyone will find something to surprise and inspire them in London Villages, whether they're new to the city or born and bred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll enjoy reading it then take it with me when I'm ..., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
Again this is a pressie for my niece going to London to study. I've also bought 1 for myself. I'll enjoy reading it then take it with me when I'm over there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
excellent as a present thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... book and as a northerner I've found it really useful as I would never have found these places on ..., 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
I've explored a few of the areas in this book and as a northerner I've found it really useful as I would never have found these places on my own. It takes you away from the busy tourist areas and to more interesting parts of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
A great book when you want to explore a smaller London. Nice places are shown which still are nice when you visit them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
Great little book - looking forward to exploring. Her other book tea and cake is great too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Chris (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods (Paperback)
Bought as present - did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods
London Villages: Explore the City's Best Local Neighbourhoods by Zena Alkayat (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews