Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only want one book on herbaceous perrenials, buy this
Quite simply the most useful book on herbaceous plants you will ever need. By grouping the plants by how they behave in your garden Oudolf and Gerritsen have taken all the guesswork out of herbaceous planting. Clear plates, teamed with the author's concentration on only the best varieties of each species help to choose the most appropriate plants. As a professional...
Published on 10 July 2001

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BELIEVE ALL YOU READ...
Mine is a densely planted, fully landscaped 5 acre garden which I started from scratch, single-handed, 23 years ago. I still manage it single-handed at 78, apart from a little help with the mile of hedge and 6 miles of lawn edge. This garden, and 27 years of previous gardens, are my credentials for reviewing gardening books.

This is a lovely book, written in a...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Jeff Walmsley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only want one book on herbaceous perrenials, buy this, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
Quite simply the most useful book on herbaceous plants you will ever need. By grouping the plants by how they behave in your garden Oudolf and Gerritsen have taken all the guesswork out of herbaceous planting. Clear plates, teamed with the author's concentration on only the best varieties of each species help to choose the most appropriate plants. As a professional garden designer I have taken to keeping a copy of the book in my car, and referring to their classifications before buying. This practical advice teamed with Europe's most respected plantsmen's own personal tastes has led me to use plants I had never heard of. Such simple descriptions as "Grows anywhere and is always beautiful, use it" can only inspire. Their advice is so good that you ignore it at your peril, I recently bought some Thalictrum that they specifically warned against as they fall over, I bought some anyway, and watched them grow, start to flower and fall over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BELIEVE ALL YOU READ..., 14 July 2010
By 
Jeff Walmsley "JW" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mine is a densely planted, fully landscaped 5 acre garden which I started from scratch, single-handed, 23 years ago. I still manage it single-handed at 78, apart from a little help with the mile of hedge and 6 miles of lawn edge. This garden, and 27 years of previous gardens, are my credentials for reviewing gardening books.

This is a lovely book, written in a light, easy-readable style, with a pleasant wit, and generously and nicely illustrated. A pleasure to own, in fact, and an enjoyable bedtime read. However, despite their vast experience and unquestionable standing in the world of professional horticulture, the authors make blunt generalised statements about individual plants which are patently untrue, for example, recommending plants which in my garden have proved almost ineradicable pests on a par with Aegopodium (so much for "Dream Plants"), condemning as ungrowable others which flourish here without any help from me whatsoever, and making unwarranted declarations about soil requirements in individual cases. But many other gardening writers fall into the same trap. Buy the book by all means, but find out for yourself what does and does not grow for you. (Although do find out your soil's pH for the really obvious cases)

The authors condemn the use of weedkillers. The only problem with weedkillers is improper use, and without such aids, I would have no garden to comfort my old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Plants for the Natural Garden, 26 Sep 2009
By 
J. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must for all gardening enthusiasts! It is very easy to access with lovely photographs and with a nice vein of humour running through it. Since receiving it a few weeks ago, I have opened it more times than any other gardening book to check if plants are suitable for my garden, especially now as I am re-vamping a border to stock with cottage garden plants.
Would make super Christmas present for keen amateur gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 19 May 2009
By 
J. Easterby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perfect introduction to perennial plants and natural gardening techniques. Lists of bomb proof plants. This book can save you a lot of money so you don't buy plants that die after the first year. It also gives you confidence to try new shapes, colours and forms. It writing style is concise and at time very entertaining.
Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream of a natural garden can be yours, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Sookie B "Sookie" (Surrey, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please purchase this book. It is just amazing with its fabulous directory and guidance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful reference, 19 Dec 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dream Plants for the Natural Garden (Paperback)
This is a terrific book, written by two highly respected authors and plantsmen. 1200 plants are included and are described in a unique, frank and highly entertaining way. The advice is accessible and interesting. This is a wonderful book that should find pride of place on any plantsman or woman's bookshelf and be of use for many years. Anyone who grows perennials should have this book. The only minor negative is that some of the photographs are not good enough for a book of this standard. Admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book and delivered with great speed, 16 Jun 2009
By 
M. Winterbottom (gb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book for herbaceous plants.

arrived 2 days later so excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, outstanding and thought provoking, 19 April 2001
By A Customer
I had never really considered perennials to be such an important and rewarding part of the planting scheme before reading this book. Most of them seemed to be hard work in terms of effort repaid. This book helped to open my eyes to the possibilities of using perennials and the fact that they needn't be very demanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely browsing, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Cassandra (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful for finding the right plant for that odd or difficult corner. But with all books, I'd recommend you get it from your public library first to see if it suits you before shelling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for the plant lover, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Plants for the Natural Garden (Paperback)
Brilliant section on tough plants which is worth the purchase price alone. Oudolf is a pioneer and I am happy to follow his advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Plants for the Natural Garden
Dream Plants for the Natural Garden by Henk Gerritsen (Paperback - 3 Oct 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews