Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, a perfect gift, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
I reecently attended the presentation of this book at the Italian Cultural Institute in London and I was very impressed by the knowledge of the author. I actually come from near Venice so I wasn't sure if this could be suitable for me. I have to say it was the perfect birthday gift for my Mother, who is an expert about Venice!
I particularly enjoyed the section regarding the magnificent garden of the Bauer Palladio Hotel in La Giudecca, the pictures are amazing and the description is wonderful. Overall the book is full of beautiful pictures and gives you an emotional insight about an aspect of Venice that is normally overlooked.
I would surely recommend this book to any Venice lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful gardens to visit in the Veneto, 6 Dec 2013
By 
J. Suyderhoud (ouderkerk aan den ijssel, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
Jennie Condie has made a selection of 21 great gardens to visit in the Veneto, of which 4 are located in Venice. As stated in the introduction: "Others have explored the fascinating subject of hidden or private gardens; our leading criterion has been present accessibility - born from the conviction that no picture or story could possibly equate with experiencing these gardens for oneself" and furthermore: "It is hoped that, beguiled by these pages, the reader will undertake the rest of the journey in person". I can not agree more. The descriptions of the gardens are exhaustive and to the point with many beautiful photographs by Alex Ramsay, this time enhancing the strong architectural backbone of most Italian gardens. A list of these gardens with address, opening times and website information is included and also a list of books for further reading, although some in the Italian language. Based on your preferences you can research and organize well in advance a tour along your own favorite gardens in order to follow the advice of the author and undertake the rest of the journey in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars washerwoman, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
I loved this beautiful book! Memorably illustrated with Alex Ramsay's fine photographs, I found it much more than a predictably glossy coffee table book. Venetian resident Jenny Condie's fascinating text takes us through the maverick histories of these gardens and their owners, describing their evolution over the centuries. It is an architectural, botanical, historical and literary cabinet of curiosities for all those fascinated by gardens, Venice and Italy. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another side to Venice and its surrounding area, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
A very interesting book with beautiful photographs. Coffee table, yes, but a treat to read and another view of that part
of Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present for our friend who loves gardens, gardening and Italy. He loved it and is inspired to visit some of the gardens featured on future holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 2 Dec 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
The gardens of Italy figure on any garden lover's to visit list, and those of Venice come near the top of the list. There was a previous book entitled the Gardens of Venice by Albrizzi, published in 1989 by Rizzoli, but this new book surpasses that in text and photography. This book explores just twenty gardens in all. A quick scan on the internet reveals more. In particular Venice could have been explored in more depth.

Third book offers fabulous garden profiles detailing the history, the villas, the owners and their gardens. The text is interesting and the photography does more than support the text. Explore the different garden styles and the interpretations that reflect their personal character. Some of these gardens are hundreds of years old, fragile yet eternal.

Jennie knows how to set the scene, tell the story and bring each garden to life. This book is of interest to gardeners, historians, sculpture lovers and to anyone who loves all things Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyous gardens, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
Beautifully written and historically well informed this book is an invitation to enjoy special gardens in one of the most beautiful parts of Italy. A joy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
beautiful book and fantastic photography,great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift and was very well accepted. Lovely pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto
The Gardens of Venice and the Veneto by Alex Ramsay (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£28.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews