Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will lead me badly astray, 15 May 2013
By 
Dave Barter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
I had no aspiration to ride in Belgium at all until this little number popped up in my Amazon recommendations. Having bought both of Simon Warren's previous books..how could I resist? But yet again he has created the perfect pocket guide to the gravitational ticklist any cyclist venturing towards Belgium should have. In fact I found this the most readable of his three guides with a decent amount of history thrown in with the climb detail. Simon needs a massive round of applause for taking on this project and us cyclists need to make it all worthwhile by ticking them all off and then waiting with bated breath for his next list (whilst begging for photos of cyclists on the climbs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good little bedside (or bike ride!) book., 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
Would recommend this book to anyone who has the urge to conquer some tough Belgian ascents!
Or perhaps to just read and dream of climbing them!
Its small enough to fit into a backpack or with some coaxing the back pocket of your cycle jersey/jacket

It has left me with an even greater respect for the riders who tackle the climbs and pavé, pros and amateurs.

Am now considering the other publications by Mr Warren but would really like to conquer Belgium first with the aid of this guide.
Maybe one day!
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His best yet?, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
Just taken receipt of my Hellingen book.

I must admit I was doubtful of the subject matter due to my lack of understanding of the area, however just based on a quick flick through I reckon this might be the author's best one yet.

It's as much as guide to the history, cycling heritage and culture of the areas as it is a guide to the hills and should enhance my understanding of all the early season races of the region.

I'm off to find some cobbles...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
Although small in stature the book covers most of the famous Belgium climbs. You get a good description of the history and the technical details of the climbs. I particularly liked that you can tick off each climb once you've ridden them. There are some climbs that aren't included and for me one of the hardest climbs I have rode in Belgium has to be the Triple Muur de Monty just outside Namur. At 1.4K in length with a maximum gradient of 21.5% and an average of 9% it is a killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the Koppenburg!, 7 July 2014
By 
Michael Walker (Lancashire, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
Ideal for my trip to Belgium to check out the fabled cobbled climbs.

Excellent description of each of the climbs with a maps that help you get to them.

The additional information of Flanders and Wallonia is a nice little bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic pocket book, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
Fantastic pocket book, even you won't go to Belgium, but drink beer on the bench in the park and dream about be a pro cyclist;). Totally reccomended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
As I travel through Belgium quite a bit I bought this so as to discover many of the places to go road biking that I would otherwise miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great service, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
If you like your cycling, this book is great. Especially useful when watching the tour of Flanders, or planning your route around it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the cobbled classics, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
A good guide to the different bergs and climbs in Belgium.Gives you a good insight into where to go for the one day races.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very successful Christmas present for a keen cyclist, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs (Paperback)
It was a Christmas present for my keen cyclist son. He was truly delighted and spent most of the day looking at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hellingen: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Belgium's Greatest Cycling Climbs
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews