Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2013
Wonderful ,fascinating writing making what sounds like a dry subject so interesting and informative.Beautiful photographs sensitively placed.I would thoroughly recommend this book to gardeners and non gardeners.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
A great book for a keen gardener. It would be hard to imagine that anyone could write such an amusing and informative book on weeds. All the usual culprits are included as well as a whole lots of unexpected ones. I loved learned how they have all evolved to survive and torture us.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
As a gardener it provided an understanding of plants that will increase, I hope, my chances of controlling unwanted plants in the garden. It also refreshed my botanical knowledge and introduced me to the fascination that Darwin had with plants. A good read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
A different slant on weeds, should you remove, and if so how; or do you leave? Written with depth of knowledge and experience. The book itself is a pleasure to hold, feel and read, nice layout with good illustrations.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This was a gift at Christmas for my gardening beginner daughter who is/was unable to tell a weed for a garden flower.she is thrilled with it, it should be useful for years to come
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
A very interesting book if you need to know your enemy when it comes to gardening.

It takes you through the evolution of weeds in Darwinian fashion but also explains how to rid your garden of them. If you have weeds in your garden that are referred to as brutes, be afraid.... very, very afraid.

Will be using this many, many times in the future and it's so handy to know the names of the arch enemies that I spend half my life battling with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Brilliant... I read this cover to cover, which is not something I expected from what is essentially a serious botanical work. Edmonds tells a great story about Darwin's ideas and his observations in and around his garden at Down House in Kent, told through a discussion of 100 weeds that take the reader through the "tree of life" from primitive algae, ferns and horsetails to the most highly evolved flowering species. I found the chapter on weeding much less interesting than the rest, but the rest is superb. This is not an weed identification book, but one likely to expand your knowledge of plants in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
I found most of my weedy problems, but not all. Some of the worst were not included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Very interesting! Very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
A1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)