Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Tat to 'where did you get that'!
Having a growing hoard of holey jumpers and chipped cups and a vague idea to get creative with some fashionable 'upcycling' - this book has come just in time. Now I can follow the practical steps to make some lovely new stuff - all projects are explained clearly and are beautifly illustrated. Inspiring - handmade presents you would actually want to receive and tresasure.
Published 23 months ago by LucyBT

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing & Unoriginal
I am loving the resurgence of all things crafty and very much sold on the idea of recyling and upcycling, so this book should have ticked all the boxes, but I am sorry to say it was rather dissapointing.
The ideas are not particularly original (save for a couple - the lego clock is brill!).
Other projects are very basic and most certainly have that rough around...
Published 21 months ago by HT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Tat to 'where did you get that'!, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
Having a growing hoard of holey jumpers and chipped cups and a vague idea to get creative with some fashionable 'upcycling' - this book has come just in time. Now I can follow the practical steps to make some lovely new stuff - all projects are explained clearly and are beautifly illustrated. Inspiring - handmade presents you would actually want to receive and tresasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas presents sorted, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
love your book!!

I thought I was already quite creative with re-crafting things into other useful things - but wow! so many awesome ideas - thank you! After a depressing day browsing a large department store, I decided to just visit a few charity shops instead and make christmas presents at home. I've already done the lampshade, the tie-pencil case and next up the sewing kit jam jar.... The lampshade is already up in our house and my husband thinks it's very stylish!

The best thing was that each of the items didn't take too long. Usually my craft-projects are weeks/months of planning and producing. But this book is a very refreshing and varied list of craft projects that can be done in a few hours, still with brilliant effect, and using the usual things most crafty person will have in the house anyway. The descriptions were simple to understand and the illustrations are just gorgeous!!!!

So this Christmas, gifts are either going to be handmade, or I'll be giving the buttonbag book itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift for a creative person, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
It was a gift for my daughter and she says its given her inspiration to get on and do things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing & Unoriginal, 11 Nov 2012
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
I am loving the resurgence of all things crafty and very much sold on the idea of recyling and upcycling, so this book should have ticked all the boxes, but I am sorry to say it was rather dissapointing.
The ideas are not particularly original (save for a couple - the lego clock is brill!).
Other projects are very basic and most certainly have that rough around the edges homemade look, and the book is largely filled with poor versions of projects easily found and more creatively executed on pinterest. The christmas decorations especially, are a joke, and the sort of thing children make at school.
I appreciate some would be readers might be beginners to craft, and are perhaps less intimidated by the amateur homemade look, if you consider yourself even remotely intermediate in sewing and crafts, this book will leave you deflated. I would actually recommend it for children and adolescents rather than adults, but even then, there are better and more inspiring books on the market for this age group.
The biggest let down though, was the photography. I think like many crafters, these kind of books are purchased as much for the eye candy as the practical direction and patterns. Had the former been more inspiring I may have been less inclined to rate this book so low. Many of the patterns have no photos at all and the illustrations are dull.
Even the writing is half hearted, the intro should have been fabulous, a brilliant opportunity to wax lyrical about the new craft movement and the joy (and reasons for!) using recycled materials in craft. Instead, there is a brief and boring waffle about how being cafty makes us feel good and balances out the use of gadgetry in the home, inspiring it is not!
If you really want a book about upcycling materials in craft, I would recommend Reinvention by Maya Donenfeld, Handmade Home by Amanda Soule and Granny Chic by Tif Fussell, all three have much more interesting projects and are beautifully written, with superb photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
there are some really good projects, well written but not enough real pictures, a lot of drawn pictures to illustrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ReCraft, 1 May 2013
By 
Graham Paine "totallyuntamed" (Coventry, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
Some very interesting ideas for up-cycling. I look forward to trying some of the projects which include knitting a rug from old tee-shirts and turning men's shirts into bunting and cushions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Projects, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
Brilliant book just the right present for Christmas and my crafty friend will love it ! Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
THE BOOK WAS LOVELY PROMPT DELIVERY AND INSPIRING TO DO LOTS OF THINGS AROUND THE HOUSE WILL KEEP ME VERY BUSY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas with straightforward instruction, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
Well presented book with interesting ideas for reusing worn out clothing and smartening up old furniture. Instructions are clear and easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ReCraft: How to Turn Second-hand Stuff into Beautiful Things for your Home, Family and Friends (Paperback)
loved this book, great ideas for redrafting ideas, but gave me thoughts about making from new, has inspired me to sew more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews