Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2013
I bought this book as much out of curiosity as anything else, to see if the rules were the same as I remembered them to be :-) It's proven to be not only a good source of amusement (the writers have taken a witty approach to the subject at times) but also a handy reference and reminder as to the numerous pitfalls in graphic design. The description says the reader can either dip in at random or use the book as a source of a daily lesson - there are 365 Essential Design Dos and Don'ts after all ;-) But I would find it difficult to stop reading after just one `lesson'. It's the type of book which draws you in to the extent you can spend quite a while flitting from one page to the next. Though if anyone takes one rule from the book it should be rule 001 Thou shall not use Comic Sans.

Although I said the book was wittily written (try saying that fast after a few drinks) that does not detract from the fact that the book is full of accurate and informative rules, and I'd say there are many folk out there today that would benefit from owning a copy.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Not sure who this book is for, a list of do's and don't. No real explaination of principles. Contradictory information, which is not incorrect but is not a helpful learning experience. Disorganised approach. Perhaps if you are an expert graphic designer you could flick through an confirm you already knew it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
What I like about this book is that it is written and presented in a way rthat you can dip into itand grab a nugget of useful information.

It's more detailed than, say, revision flash cards, but not a book that you would learn graphic design from.

I would say that it's ideal for people like me, who have come into graphic design as part of a career path, but have no formal training, or students studying the subject. If you've already got 20 years experience it's probaly not in depth enough for you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I actually read this book cover to cover. It's been written in a light-hearted humorous way, and in easy-to-digest chunks (one page per topic, with 365 rules). It doesn't go into great detail, but it lists things you should think about so you can research them yourself. It'll be great as a reference text.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Good collection of 'rules' and tips for graphic design. Nice easy to read format, which can be picked up and put down easily and quickly, reading one a day or more at a time as time allows!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
It's clever, smart, well put together and all over incredibly useful! I didn't buy this from Amazon, but I keep renewing it from my local library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
I bought this book amongst a few for my husband who is currently studying graphic design and he loves it. It's full of small sections that he can pick up and put down whenever he gets a spare few minutes without having to set aside hours which compliments and fits in alongside his course well. I'm lead to believe it's also useful for dipping in and out of to refresh those who are already trained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Lots of the rules in here will be obvious to even entry-level designers, but there are some occasional gems that make it well worth reading through. (For example, the stuff about sharpness settings in digital photos was a revelation to me (I presume it's correct!)) Only niggle is that they say "Thou shall" all the way through the book, when it should be "Thou shalt"...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
A very useful synopsis of tenets to follow in graphic design.They are straight forward principles but inevitably there are exceptions to those principles and it means the designer has to follow his own instincts in any conflict- which is exactly how it should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
A brilliant book. Easy to read. Clever layout that ensures all the information is palatable. Bought it for someone else as a present but then felt compelled to buy myself a copy as was a little reluctant to give it away - always a good sign.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)