Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars10
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 25 August 2012
A little background information: Alain Passard removed all red meat from his three-Michelin-starred Paris restaurant L'Arpège in 2001, intending to concentrate predominantly on cooking with vegetables, the restaurant world was shocked.

At the end of summer 2002, Passard opened his own kitchen garden 150 miles from Paris, in Fillé(Payes De La Loire), on the grounds of an old chateau. The produce grown there are organic, without the use of any machinery. The only help the gardeners receive during harvest is the use of a draught horse.

To celebrate the restaurant's 25th anniversary, Passard gives homage to the humble vegetable and his love of art and collage in his new book, The Art of Cooking with Vegetables.

Most notably, Passard has chosen his own collages to illustrate each of the 48 recipes. (sounds great but did it work?)

Organised into seasons, within each recipe Passard includes a commentary on how he brings the ingredients together to share a relationship on the plate - in taste as well as visually. Each recipe also has a recommended wine (always a great bonus)

Recipes include herb-filled peppers on warm crusty bread or beetroot with leek, green apple and green tea; and red beetroot with lavender and crushed blackberries. There are also desserts, such as avocado soufflés with dark chocolate and baked apples with Hibiscus petals and sugared almonds so some "way out there combinations" I hear you say, but hey tried & tested and yes that's why he is a master chef fantastic...
The recipes are distinctly innovative, full of unexpected combinations and complex flavours and Passard has elevated the simple vegetable to an ingredient that can stand up on its own a master stroke.

Combining his passion for fresh and seasonal ingredients and art Passard has created a book that will change how many look at the humble vegetable.

However, I was disappointed by the collages. Although they were attractive in their own right, they did nothing to whet my appetite to try what were otherwise interesting-sounding recipes.
So you may say that I am old fashioned but I do love a great photo or fantastic picture of the finished item just to help the salivation process to start...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 16 August 2012
I was drawn to this by the funky collage illustrations, by chef Passard himself. Now, some will insist that a cookbook must have photographs, but I think this gives the book a fresh, playful and imaginative feel, which is just right for the recipes: these are thrilling. Arranged season by season, they aren't technically complicated, but rely on striking combinations. My current favourite is pyramids of pineapple with a sort of mahonaise of good olive oil, acacia honey, lime and sea salt - alchemy on a plate.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2012
It's a collection of lovely recipes, grown up food for us vegetarians but, although I'm a fairly competent cook and the illustrations are beautiful, I like to see what I'm aiming for and the collage pictures of the dishes didn't give me that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 28 September 2012
These people complaining about no pictures have no imagination, and are typical of our cook book porn culture vultures.
A picture of a finished dish is like hearing the punchline to a joke you haven't yet heard.
i can't tell you how many times I've been served up laughably bad looking dishes by people trying to recreate a book's photograph, when the flavours were great and the cook should have just plated up as they saw fit.
I am a professional chef and the subtle touches in this guy's approach are inspiring, the collages are beautiful and if you appreciate the man and his cooking, the book is a must.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
It's a great book for flicking through to look at Alan passards illustrations and philosophy of food. However it is the only cook book I have not made anything from as it is all about the presentation and not the flavours or satisfaction of a filling balenced meal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Summary: cook vegetables in vast amounts of butter for hours and they will taste nice. Pretty illustrations but I'd rather see photos of how it should look on the plate.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Absolute must have, no pictures so his plating remains a secret! Not the books fault but I had real issue with delivery
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 8 June 2012
I am sorry to say this, as I have been waiting for this book for quite a while.When it arrived I was very disappointed. The recipes are excellent (I have already tried one) the lack of photographs is a big no no to me. I like to see what the finished dish should look like, or at least have some inspiration on how best to plate it up but to use collages representing the colours of the food on the plate? Come on! A case of "the emperor's new clothes" if ever I saw one It feels like there were not enough recipes to fill a book but someone was too cheap to employ a photographer. Definitely a book for the kindle!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2013
Bought this by the recommendation of a chef. Mainly because it is not another cookbook with photographs, but with illustrations by Passard himself (if I got it right). I'll admit that they could be better but just one star reduction.

The recipes look very interesting and I've found a few good combinations although I have not made the dishes as they are but used the ideas in my own creations. But I will make some of them by the letter later on.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 23 July 2012
Well this book looks like it was left on the table at a kids party with a box of crayons next to it, which is about the only good thing i can say, in this day and age photos are a must.
My advise would be keep on looking and dont waist your money on this one!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Terre a Terre: The Vegetarian Cookbook
Terre a Terre: The Vegetarian Cookbook by Amanda Powley (Hardcover - 20 Nov. 2009)

Nobu's Vegetarian Cookbook
Nobu's Vegetarian Cookbook by Nobu Matsuhisa (Hardcover - 30 Jan. 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.