Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fresh, stylish and sensational
I was drawn to this by the funky collage illustrations, by chef Passard himself. Now, some will insist that a cookbook must have photographs, but I think this gives the book a fresh, playful and imaginative feel, which is just right for the recipes: these are thrilling. Arranged season by season, they aren't technically complicated, but rely on striking combinations. My...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by Andrew Dunn

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With better pictures would have achieved top marks
A little background information: Alain Passard removed all red meat from his three-Michelin-starred Paris restaurant L'Arpège in 2001, intending to concentrate predominantly on cooking with vegetables, the restaurant world was shocked.

At the end of summer 2002, Passard opened his own kitchen garden 150 miles from Paris, in Fillé(Payes De La...
Published on 25 Aug. 2012 by Danny Marbella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With better pictures would have achieved top marks, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
A little background information: Alain Passard removed all red meat from his three-Michelin-starred Paris restaurant L'Arpège in 2001, intending to concentrate predominantly on cooking with vegetables, the restaurant world was shocked.

At the end of summer 2002, Passard opened his own kitchen garden 150 miles from Paris, in Fillé(Payes De La Loire), on the grounds of an old chateau. The produce grown there are organic, without the use of any machinery. The only help the gardeners receive during harvest is the use of a draught horse.

To celebrate the restaurant's 25th anniversary, Passard gives homage to the humble vegetable and his love of art and collage in his new book, The Art of Cooking with Vegetables.

Most notably, Passard has chosen his own collages to illustrate each of the 48 recipes. (sounds great but did it work?)

Organised into seasons, within each recipe Passard includes a commentary on how he brings the ingredients together to share a relationship on the plate - in taste as well as visually. Each recipe also has a recommended wine (always a great bonus)

Recipes include herb-filled peppers on warm crusty bread or beetroot with leek, green apple and green tea; and red beetroot with lavender and crushed blackberries. There are also desserts, such as avocado soufflés with dark chocolate and baked apples with Hibiscus petals and sugared almonds so some "way out there combinations" I hear you say, but hey tried & tested and yes that's why he is a master chef fantastic...
The recipes are distinctly innovative, full of unexpected combinations and complex flavours and Passard has elevated the simple vegetable to an ingredient that can stand up on its own a master stroke.

Combining his passion for fresh and seasonal ingredients and art Passard has created a book that will change how many look at the humble vegetable.

However, I was disappointed by the collages. Although they were attractive in their own right, they did nothing to whet my appetite to try what were otherwise interesting-sounding recipes.
So you may say that I am old fashioned but I do love a great photo or fantastic picture of the finished item just to help the salivation process to start...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fresh, stylish and sensational, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
Andrew Dunn (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
I was drawn to this by the funky collage illustrations, by chef Passard himself. Now, some will insist that a cookbook must have photographs, but I think this gives the book a fresh, playful and imaginative feel, which is just right for the recipes: these are thrilling. Arranged season by season, they aren't technically complicated, but rely on striking combinations. My current favourite is pyramids of pineapple with a sort of mahonaise of good olive oil, acacia honey, lime and sea salt - alchemy on a plate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unhelpful illustrations, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
It's a collection of lovely recipes, grown up food for us vegetarians but, although I'm a fairly competent cook and the illustrations are beautiful, I like to see what I'm aiming for and the collage pictures of the dishes didn't give me that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
These people complaining about no pictures have no imagination, and are typical of our cook book porn culture vultures.
A picture of a finished dish is like hearing the punchline to a joke you haven't yet heard.
i can't tell you how many times I've been served up laughably bad looking dishes by people trying to recreate a book's photograph, when the flavours were great and the cook should have just plated up as they saw fit.
I am a professional chef and the subtle touches in this guy's approach are inspiring, the collages are beautiful and if you appreciate the man and his cooking, the book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty book but not a practical cook book, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
Sarah Meharg (Liverpool, Merseyside England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
It's a great book for flicking through to look at Alan passards illustrations and philosophy of food. However it is the only cook book I have not made anything from as it is all about the presentation and not the flavours or satisfaction of a filling balenced meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Veg in vast vats of butter, 3 Mar. 2015
By 
J. Hodge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
Summary: cook vegetables in vast amounts of butter for hours and they will taste nice. Pretty illustrations but I'd rather see photos of how it should look on the plate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cheap looking, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
A. mccluney (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
I am sorry to say this, as I have been waiting for this book for quite a while.When it arrived I was very disappointed. The recipes are excellent (I have already tried one) the lack of photographs is a big no no to me. I like to see what the finished dish should look like, or at least have some inspiration on how best to plate it up but to use collages representing the colours of the food on the plate? Come on! A case of "the emperor's new clothes" if ever I saw one It feels like there were not enough recipes to fill a book but someone was too cheap to employ a photographer. Definitely a book for the kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
Bought this by the recommendation of a chef. Mainly because it is not another cookbook with photographs, but with illustrations by Passard himself (if I got it right). I'll admit that they could be better but just one star reduction.

The recipes look very interesting and I've found a few good combinations although I have not made the dishes as they are but used the ideas in my own creations. But I will make some of them by the letter later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars colouring book, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Cooking with Vegetables (Hardcover)
Well this book looks like it was left on the table at a kids party with a box of crayons next to it, which is about the only good thing i can say, in this day and age photos are a must.
My advise would be keep on looking and dont waist your money on this one!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Cooking with Vegetables
The Art of Cooking with Vegetables by Alain Passard (Hardcover - 28 Jun. 2012)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews