Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars secret gardens
I've lived in London over 20 years and (shamefully)I wasn't aware of even half these places. I love the gardens section the best as its summer - lovely places to visit with friends/loved ones or just on my own when I want some peace in this rather noisey, stressful city. Its a good size to keep in my hand bag/ruck sack and its not too expensive so makes a really good...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by hello kitty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good looking but has weaknesses as a guidebook
This book contains the author’s selection of places in London where you can escape from the city’s noise and bustle. It is divided into chapters covering different types of destination, such as museums, galleries and restaurants and cafes, and the book is well presented with a nice balance between the text and the well chosen photographs. But I thought that it...
Published 4 months ago by Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars secret gardens, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
I've lived in London over 20 years and (shamefully)I wasn't aware of even half these places. I love the gardens section the best as its summer - lovely places to visit with friends/loved ones or just on my own when I want some peace in this rather noisey, stressful city. Its a good size to keep in my hand bag/ruck sack and its not too expensive so makes a really good gift!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a luminous selection, 14 Oct 2011
By 
M. Simon Gregg "simonsterg" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
There's a number of pleasures to this book. The first is finding those public but almost hidden places that you already know and enjoy visiting. For me, places like The Geffrye Museum Herb Garden, the Kensington Roof Garden, the café at Lauderdale House.

Then there's the promise of finding out that there are other places that you never even knew about, places that you'll like just as much. The choices are not just for the lovers of quiet. Often they are small, out-of-the-way, not particularly well advertised, but places you'll want to return to.

And a third thing - it makes a beautiful gift too. Square, compact, cool, packed with goodies. Something for Londoners, for those like me who love London but are far away, and something for the visitor too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London's Little gEM, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
There's always a book you wish you had written and to be honest this is one of them. Just goes to show ideas don't just land with one person. I am one of those people who is always seeking quiet spaces in London in which I can retreat to. Whether it is the reading rooms of the British Library, a quiet spot in London's Kew Garden's, the Quiet carriages on Trains despite the odd offender who still insists on taking calls on their mobiles or all too infrequent cafe or restaurant where I am the first customer of the day. I love quiet spots. They help to centre and ground me.

Quiet London captures in print some of the quiet sanctuaries London has in it's possession. Grab this book if you long for more tranquil spaces to retreat to.

Some of my own personal recommendations (meaning I have sought refuge here) which the book also includes would be:
Review Bookshop, Bellenden rd, SE15 - a quiet haven in the centre of Peckham village which has some good book readings and great books on offer where I found this book a couple of days before publication.
Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge - Always great for a spot of quiet tucked between Borough market and London Bridge. Add St Martins-in-the-fields- Church in Trafalgar Square to the list of churches where you can get a spot of quiet in London.
St Ethelburga's Church, 78 Bishopsgate - love that is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Liverpool street. Has a lovely forecourt garden
Inner Space, Brahma Kumaris, Covent Garden - Any Brahma Kumaris building is worth a visit. My body always relaxes in their meditative and healing spaces.
South London Art Gallery, 65 Peckham rd. SE15 - A real treasure of a gallery in the deeps of South London. Well worth a visit.
Porchester Spa is a really old favourite of mine.

Places I would like to visit as a result of reading this book:
Persephone Books, Lambs Conduit Street, WC1
Ushvani, Spa, 1 Cadogan Gardens

Places I would add in a revised version would be:
Kew Gardens - I once spent a whole day camped out under a bench under one of Kew's gorgeous tree almost undisturbed for the whole day.
The Rose Garden in Brockwell Park, Herne Hill in South London. A little gem that has very few visitors and beautiful fragrant roses with a wishing well as you enter on the left.
Whitechapel Art Gallery is worth adding to the list as with refurbishment you are
bound to find a quiet space especially earlier in the day.

What makes this book an even more enjoyable read are the photographs that accompany each of the venues written about.

Great read for both those new to London and those who are seasoned to this great city.

What quiet Spaces would you add to the List of London's Quiet Spaces?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original idea and soothing to read, 17 April 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
This book describes 140 quiet places in London where one can meet, drink, sleep, read, browse and generally linger. There are photographs and full contact details (including opening hours and wheelchair access) for museums, galleries, small shops, parks and nature reserves, restaurants and cafes, bookshops, afternoon tea venues, pubs and wine bars as well as spas and retreats. It is very well written and the author gives the sense of being familiar with all the places dealt with. There are some I had never heard of despite living in London for nearly 20 years such as The Estorick Collection of Modern Italian Art and this makes me feel that it is more a book for a London resident or long-stay visitor though everyone is glad of a few tranquil moments in the capital. An excellent idea excellently carried out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
this beautiful little book lives up to it's title and description perfectly. a delight to read and exciting to begin to explore the places it mentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those seeking peace in the city, 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
A handy guide to the quieter side of London. Not just libraries and parks, but shops, cafes and even spas. Unusual and different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So close to 5 stars, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, beautiful photographs but it is sadly missing a map.

Several times I've picked it up to look for somewhere to go for tea in the afternoon wherever I am going to be, and it means going through the whole book to look at all the places and see if there is anything in vaguely the right post code.

Just adding a map would make all the difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet London, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
This is the most delightful book - a most interesting one too, and one which I have put on the bedside table in a guest bedroom. Since acquiring it, two guests have come down to breakfast saying what a lovely book, and how interesting... charming places to visit about which one might not have known. An inspiring find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good looking but has weaknesses as a guidebook, 22 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
This book contains the author’s selection of places in London where you can escape from the city’s noise and bustle. It is divided into chapters covering different types of destination, such as museums, galleries and restaurants and cafes, and the book is well presented with a nice balance between the text and the well chosen photographs. But I thought that it had a few weak points which spoil it as a practical guide: it is in square format, which makes it too wide for most pockets; it lacks maps, which is quite a weakness when the chapters cover the whole city; and it doesn’t contain an index, so if you want to see if somewhere is covered you have to flick through the relevant chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heaven, 17 Nov 2011
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet London (Paperback)
Bought this on a whim and thought that I would find one or 2 hidden gems and wasn't expecting to discover 2-3 new Hotels , never previously even heard of( mile end road and beyond) and some real gems for afternoon tea ( Manchester square amongst others) and its small and easy to put in your travel bag and dip in to whilst away). Worth every penny and so glad I bought it....excellent little work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet London
Quiet London by Siobhan Wall (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews