Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Polytunnel Book
As a novice polytunnel gardener, I find this book extremely helpful and inspirational. It offers a month-by-month gardening program, and has an easy to follow format with stunning photographs. It is companionable and makes one feel encouraged in one's own polytunnel endeavour. It is set up in monthly chapters and has a handy index should one be wondering about something...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by M. Flandreau

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts - lethal in other parts
While this book is good in terms of general inspiration I can't help feeling the author hasn't been growing in polytunnels for very long because following the recommendations over a few seasons will inevitably lead to plant disease on a grand scale. Planting distances are too close to allow air circulation and as for the advice to keep the tunnel doors shut to prevent...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Kat Gardener


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Polytunnel Book, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
M. Flandreau (Cork,Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
As a novice polytunnel gardener, I find this book extremely helpful and inspirational. It offers a month-by-month gardening program, and has an easy to follow format with stunning photographs. It is companionable and makes one feel encouraged in one's own polytunnel endeavour. It is set up in monthly chapters and has a handy index should one be wondering about something specific. I would heartily recommend using this as the primary resourse for any and all polytunnel gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent polytunnel book, 22 April 2011
By 
R. Hill "Eco-gites" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
For anyone who uses their polytunnel to grow vegetables and fruit then I can highly recommend this book. It has a short section on how to site and put up the polytunnel but the greater part of the book is what gardeners need year on year - help growing things. There is a month by month guide, a section where each vegetable/fruit is detailed individually and a section on pests and diseases as well as advice on how to maintain the production of the polytunnel over many years (maintenance, soil fertility, compost, fertilisers etc). It is all very clearly laid out with some lovely inspirational photos and highlighted tips. Excellent resource for anyone wanting to get the best from their polytunnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent purchase!, 1 April 2011
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
I put my polytunnel up last spring (1 year ago) and wish I had bought this book back then. It is very interesting to read, with clear pictures and instructions. The monthly step-by-step guide of what to sow is invaluable and there are plenty of money saving ideas too. I am hoping to produce lots more veggies through the months that I thought nothing would grow. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is thinking of erecting a polytunnel as it gives advice on purchase and siting of it right through to the finished product. Buy this book before you buy the polytunnel, don't wait like me and lose out on making it pay for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light at the end of the Tunnel, 3 May 2011
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
This book is the ideal companion for the novice polytunneler.
Set out by the seasons , fruit and veg types, pre-preparation of the site, the aspect of the tunnel, you could not go wrong.

The pests and problems section is a wonderful section and makes the book very relevant to most gardeners.It makes us realise we could all do a little of this work and will definitely have to in the future.

The photography was inspiring, it made the produce look mouth-watering, the author too must be a favourite of the photographer.

I have given presents of this book to seasoned and novice gardeners alike and they too are loving its' practical tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for "Tunnel Folk", 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
This is the book i have sought for a long time, it tells me everything to do, when to do it, and in simple, easy to understand language, full of useful tips and information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate polytunnel book, 26 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
The book is written in a style that is practical, informative and relaxed - just as if your good friend who is an expert gardener was with you, ready to answer all your questions patiently. It sets out the steps to be followed from first thinking about getting a polytunnel to harvesting and enjoying the crops. It is clearly organised with a month by month guide that takes the reader through the year, making all the tasks to be completed somehow less daunting. I particularly liked the ticked helpful hints that are scattered through the text.

The introduction tells us that the author has been a polytunnel gardener for years and has written widely on the subject in gardening magazines; this is evident in the clarity and enthusiasm that comes through.

Furthermore the illustrations not only enhance the experience, they also offer mouth-watering hints of what can be achieved. Novice and experienced gardeners, along with armchair gardeners, will find the book an informative treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get working!, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
This a very clear and easy to use book with brilliant illustrations. Makes you feel anything is possible and want to have a go at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for first time polytunnelers, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Peter Bradley (Staffordshire Moorlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
Very informative book I liked the layout and the ideas for using old plastic bottles etc for re-use. Also the month to month planting made me realise that everything is about 1 month forward from my outside plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book for polytunnel growers, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
Had a tunnel put up this year, have grown fruit and veg in greenhouses but this is a larger scale. It helps that Joyce lives in Ireland, as we do, so she understands the wetter weather. Having said that, her advice relates to all of the UK as well. It's a good book for starting out or for the more experienced, she encourages you all along the way. You can follow it month on month or by the relevant fruit and veg. Many do not use tunnels in the winter, she shows you how to get the most from it all year round but also points out the pitfalls that can occur (eg do not store squash too long in the tunnel). A book that will be referred to frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round (Paperback)
Information on planting times for outdoor gardens is easy to find, but for polytunnels, not so. This is why this book is extremely useful: it has a calendar that details work to do around the tunnel each month.

Also useful is the (very short) chapter on finding a spot for your tunnel and orginizing the space inside.

It seems to me that the author got all information from her own experience, which is great, but limits it to the plants she has tried. I want to grow avocadoes in my tunnel, but she has no info on those. On the other hand, she has lots of information on grapes, since she has a vine growing in her tunnel.

Also missing was hard information on maintaining the tunnel. She says you should do it, but does not show how. How do I repair a wooden door? How do I calculate the amount of plastic needed to replace the plastic in my tunnel? What kind of plastic should I buy? No info on any of that.

Overall, a very useful book that could be made great if complemented with more technical information and a wider choice of plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round
The Polytunnel Book: Fruit and Vegetables All Year Round by Joyce Russell (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2011)
£12.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews