Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't belive no-one has done this before!
What a fantastic book! As the title says, I can't believe it's taken this long for a book like this to hit the market. I haven't really got a lot to add to the other reviews beyond saying that 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs is a really good size which you can acually fit in your pocket - not always a given - and that the information is presented in such a way as to be...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by Mr. A. K. Waterman

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scotland is like Holland
The writing is good and the descriptions are concise and useful...but ( and this is a massive BUT). Apparently, fourteen of the greatest climbing roads are in the South East and only seven in the whole of Scotland. The most populous part of the country seems to be the most mountainous, whilst Scotland is as flat as Norfolk. Mr. Warren seems to be writing from the...
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by Campbell Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A catalogue of pain, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
If, like me, you gain some sadistic pleasure from the suffering involved in hill climbs and relish the challenge of the longest, steepest gradients that you can find, then this is definitely the book for you. It's sized so that it'll fit inside a jersey pocket (just) and the layout and level of detail is spot-on, with colour photographs and maps for each climb as well as an informative description. They're also arranged by region so you can target a few in one go if you've got the legs for it! I know my county well and the surrounding counties fairly well, but even so there was the odd one that was within Sunday morning riding distance that I'd either never heard of or just overlooked, so there's a good selection in there.
Once you tick off all 100 there's also the sequel to contend with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating facts, 5 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My teenage son lives cycling and challenging himself on hills so has been transfixed by the ratings and info on each of the climbs. Certainly not my kind of book but if cycling and facts are your thing as they are for my son then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book!, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
i love this book - every weekend cyclist loves to know what challenges are in their area and indeed what a 'neutral' thinks of their existing favourites.
OK- so theres bound to be ommisions of other good hills (i see a sequel is coming), but the geographical spread is fair and sensible. The technical information is just about right, sometimes i wish it provided a few more details and included a few more incline % measurements, but how much info do you really need about a 150m ascent?!
Overall - this is a fantastic insight into Britain's (road) cycling hills, and provides plenty of ideas and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
I love this little book - someone gave it to me for Xmas and I haven't been able to stop flicking through it. Living in Sheffield means I've already done quite a few of the climbs there but I've been out over the last few weeks clocking up the ones which are missing. Personally I would rate Holme Moss harder than 5/10 - I usually struggle on this hill and it's at least as hard as Winnat's pass to me. 'Deliverance' in Strines is also missing which is my favorite hill and at least as hard as Winnat's, Holme Moss or any other hill in the Peaks. Just my opinion obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring stuff, 18 May 2011
By 
M. R. Oliver "mroli74" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
A cracking book - as people have said, a great book to have by the side of your bed to inspire your dreams. I have taken it one step further and am trying to do all of these climbs in a year. As a result many of my friends have seen the book and bought it (even the non-cyclists!) and they are taking great pleasure in "cracking" the harder climbs.

Really informative, looks good and well put together. Not a definitive list by any means, but it doesn't claim to be - these are the climbs that the author picked and he has picked well. Some of them are real crackers!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's all up hill, 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
What goes down must go up. This pocket guide to the author's selection of 100 climbs for road cyclists is a wonderful companion for anyone who enjoys the challenge of trying to go up a difficult ascent on two wheels. Each climb is briefly described in all the essential details relevant to the cyclist. Location, statistics and graphics all add up to a brilliantly conceived and executed masterpiece in print. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for my son, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
This was recommended by a more experienced biker at the Cycling Club, and my son mentioned it to be, so I bought him both books as I like to encourage him in whatever he is doing through his life (he's now a young adult). He is so enthusiastic about his hobby, and encouraging him to think about it as a lifelong activity ensures an active whole life - not just when he's young. He was delighted when the book arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
A really excellent little book. Well written, with good photographs and useful gradient profiles for some of the climbs. It's obviously written from personal experience although some of the suggested times are a bit optimistic for a 'normal' rider! Small enough to fit into a bar bag or even a back pocket. I'm already planning to tackle a couple of the climbs this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a classic and provides climbs in every area - sadly East Anglia does not quite make it though,
People think some other hills should be included and indeed some of them are on his second book, 100 more hills (sorry cannot remember the exact wording.
It is also good to read about some of the iconic climbs like Buttertubs and Holme Moss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous present for any cyclist!, 11 July 2011
This review is from: 100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills (Paperback)
Bought this item for an avid road cyclist and he is yet to get his head out of it. The book has a very appealing, slick format and describes and rates rides from various parts of the country. Pictures accompany each climb. So happy to see that the North East is well catered for! An excellent book for any cyclist, but particularly roadies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Greatest Cycling Climbs: A Road Cyclist's Guide to Britain's Hills
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews