Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic update
Back in the 70's my best mate and I set off from St Bee's Head full of the joys of spring.

It was however, October and for the first two full days it rained and rained and our already overstuffed packs got heavier and heavier.

By the time we packed up a sodden tent and contemplated the slog out of Borrowdale, we'd had enough, squelched aboard the bus...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Roy Turner

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating detail but impossible to read
The book has incredible detail in it, but is printed exactly as it the handwriting had been photocopied, as opposed to typed. It's also physically quite small - good for a backpack I guess, but extremely hard work to read the text.
Published 7 months ago by Mark Stapleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic update, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Roy Turner "roy-turner" (Blackpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Back in the 70's my best mate and I set off from St Bee's Head full of the joys of spring.

It was however, October and for the first two full days it rained and rained and our already overstuffed packs got heavier and heavier.

By the time we packed up a sodden tent and contemplated the slog out of Borrowdale, we'd had enough, squelched aboard the bus to Keswick, changed out of our wet gear in the bus station loos (yeeuuch!) and caught the next bus home.

Buying Chris Jesty's excellent update of my Wainwright original brought it all back!

I can't wait to have another go. This time though, in deference to my increasing decrepitude, I'll travel light and stay in b&bs.

If you're planning to tackle the Coast to Coast, then this wonderfully entertaining book, nicely enhanced by showing the route in colour, is the only guide you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars update, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. J. Fletcher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
keeps you informed and up to date for all your walks. Chris Jesty is doing an excellent job of the updates to the original guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life experience I will never forget ..., 24 May 2011
By 
GT59 (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
An excellent update to the original and told in the usual Wainwight style of lovely pen and ink drawings, the attention to detail. It continuesd to be a great guide.

For the walk i completed on 21 May 2011 I also used OS maps and Henry Steadman Trailblazer Coast to Coast Path not only to navigate but to refer to, to enjoy the route as i went along. It was not a walk to be rushed and completed by route march ... but to be enjoyed!

It doesn't really give notes on planning and booking accommodation, but the setting up is half of the fun of the whole experience and doing the walk.

The memory of this walk will stay with me for the rest of my life and using this book and others mentioned, I will be able to relive it and bring it all back to life from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Boots ready!, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Faffer "Gadget Addict" (Southern England, U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Chris Jesty has been painstakingly revising Wainwright's Pictorial Guides for years, and this latest volume in the series maintains the high standards of those preceding it. With the corrections and amendments that have been made this is now a practical guide to the Coast to Coast that continues to celebrate AW's genius and artistry. This is a volume for even armchair walkers to linger over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
I walked the C2C last April and had this book in my hand most of the time. The maps are superb and the detail is essential. Every time I went off route it was because I used my map without this book. The devil is in the detail and this book plus a compass are essential items for what is a fabulous stroll across the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 26 May 2011
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely invaluable guide for anyone wanting to take the plunge and make the C2C walk. Most, if not all, of your questions are answered clearly and from an obviously very knowledgeable point of view. A cracking book, just got to do the walk now! Here goes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Enhanced, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Professional cartographer and writer Chris Jesty has been rightly lauded for his work on updating many of Wainwright's invaluable Lakeland guides. It is easy to see why. For a start, Wainwright's charming original hand-drawn maps have been preserved in the main, though Mr Jesty has shown suggested routes in red ink, which only adds to the experience.

Where changes have had to be made to the accompanying text (and indeed to the maps), because of time and the hour, they have been seamless. There is a small but welcome Useful Information section at the end replete with website addresses. Quite what the technophobe Wainwright would have made of these and the cyber age in general boggles the mind!

Mr Jesty has made s great job of updating this Coast to Coast classic: he has added wisely and subtracted very little.

Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't head for St Bees without it, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
The original guide to the Coast to Coast, now thoroughly revised. I embarked upon my walk carrying both this guidebook and the Harvey strip-maps and I'd say 80% of my navigation was done using this book, swapping back to the maps only where a wider view was needed. The revisions proved to be very accurate and smaller details and landmarks are shown which do not appear on the strip-maps - the descriptions of places and points of interest also make excellent reading. The route is shown in red (and blue and green over Nine Standards Rigg) which makes it much easier to follow than in the original books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did he walk this walk?, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
I'd recommend this to anyone who would like to do the C2C walk and anyone who is wanting to visits parts of the walk. I used this, together with a Harvey map and it was invaluable when confirmation was needed on some routes.
It's great for basic planning and also gives details of alternatives.
I also find that it is also a great memento and aide-mémoire to what me and my daughter achieved this year.
Got the book. Got the T-shirt. Got the blisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Coast to Coast Walk Second Edition: From St Bees Head to Robin Hood's Bay (The Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
You cant criticise old Arthur, and Chris Jesty has done a clever job with the venerable text. A must-have for afficionadoes and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews