Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright books revised for current routes, 17 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought these for a friend as a gift, will be asking for my own set of these for Christmas

They are by A. Wainwright but they have been updated as over time some routes have changed.

If you walk in the Lake District, these are a great companion.

Wainwright gives you some of the better, less busy/obvious, ways to approach your walks.

DON'T take just the books out on the fells though (always take/use an OS Map and Compass and know where you are).

Use the books to give you the routes which you can then walk from your map.

The nice thing about having the set is you will always have the book you need.

Best use these with latest OS maps - ideally (yellow) Explorer 1:25000, failing that (pink) Landranger 1:50000)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile even for Purists, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
W. Stevenson (Garstang, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use these as the 'field copy' while keeping The Bible clean on the shelf. It is interesting to see how litle has changed- which is not to diminish the amount of work that Chris Jesty has put into revising the minor details on the maps and diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells - Complete Revised Editions Boxed Set, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had all the original editions but wanted the revised edition for two reasons; changes in routes and paths and also simply to compare the two editions to see how the Lake District has changed (or not) over the last 50 years.

Chris Jesty has done a brilliant job - it certainly has been a labour of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box of Gems, 19 Nov. 2009
By 
K. YOUNG "Big Keith" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Pictorial Guides: A Reader's Edition (Pictorial Guide Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
What a great set!This box set contains all 7 guides plus 3 other books that the other set does not have, THE PENNINE WAY COMPANION,A COAST TO COAST WALK (revised) AND THE OUTLYING FELLS OF LAKELAND.Very informative and make a great read for anyone interested in this beautiful place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Pictorial Guides: A Reader's Edition (Pictorial Guide Lakeland..., 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Pictorial Guides: A Reader's Edition (Pictorial Guide Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
This book sett is really good! The book are 10% bigger than Wainwright's originals and it does make a big difference for the reader. They are just as the great man wrote the originals.
The service from this "Market Place" was second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Guides, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these guide books. They are beautifully presented & a very handy size when you are out walking.
We recently went to the Lakes and climbed 9 mountains. Although you still need an OS map these books were very valuable to help give the best routes up & down. We also got caught in the mist one day & were struggling to find the path we needed. On checking the book it pointed out some key features which we were able to locate & continue on the route we were following. Definitely useful to help you get the most of the Lake District & help to keep you safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Box could be better, 2 Oct. 2013
By 
P. M. Davies (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great update to classic series - pity the box doesn't have thumb indents or some other method to get the books out more easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love These!, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought these for my husband for Christmas. As experienced trekkers, our next aim is to complete all of the Wainwrights - so far we have done 11, with the help from these revised Chris Jesty books, that keep the original text from Alfred Wainwright but with an up to date version, which make them accurate and reliable. Very happy with these books and look forward to taking them with us on our next adventures :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 30 Nov. 2011
This is a great buy for any fan of Wainwright and his fells, the revised edition updates reader on new routes and still gives those wonderfull drawing!Ideal as a shelf filler and Birthday/Christmas present would suit any aspiring rambler as an aid to fell walking and just enjoying the beautiful Lake District.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sympathetically updated...still the only thing you need in the lakes, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandparents walked with the originals, which are now with my parents. I bought the updated versions last year and used them for the first time in the summer. We took both old and new up Scarfell and the updated versions showed the newer and better path not present in the old version.

AW said he always thought his books would have a shelf life, but with updates like Jesty has done, there is no reason these cannot be timeless. Its still the only thing you need to walk the lakes (I rate OS maps, but there is just no need for them with these books!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Pictorial Guides: A Reader's Edition (Pictorial Guide Lakeland Fells)
Used & New from: £59.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews