Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Paris
"Judith Paris" is the second novel in the Herries family saga, covering the years from 1771-1822. Judith is the daughter of Francis "Rogue" Herries and the gypsy woman, Mirabell Starr. She is a strong, indomitable little woman who goes through life speaking her mind and defying convention. She is married for a while to a wayward Frenchman, Georges...
Published on 27 Mar. 2006 by S. Hapgood

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury is still out on Walpole
Warning: this review contains spoilers

Hugh Walpole was a hugely popular author in the 1930s but he has fallen out of favour with readers since his death in 1941 and is not widely read nowadays.

I first came across him when Radio 4 dramatised his 'Herries Chronicle' in the early 1970s. The Chronicle consists of four novels which tell the story of a...
Published on 1 Jan. 2009 by Mr. T. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Paris, 27 Mar. 2006
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judith Paris (Paperback)
"Judith Paris" is the second novel in the Herries family saga, covering the years from 1771-1822. Judith is the daughter of Francis "Rogue" Herries and the gypsy woman, Mirabell Starr. She is a strong, indomitable little woman who goes through life speaking her mind and defying convention. She is married for a while to a wayward Frenchman, Georges Paris, a man she loves passionately, but who is a compulsive gambler and womaniser. Her only child, her adored son Adam, is born out of wedlock when she is over 40. For all her unconventionality and her scandalous behaviour the rest of the family are drawn to her, and end up depending on her more and more. Rumbling along in the background of the story is the growing feud between the fiercely ambitious and materialistic Walter Herries and his cousin Jennifer, a beautiful but chronically vain and lazy woman. The characters in this book are multi-dimensional and finely-drawn, particularly those of Jennifer, and Judith herself. Walpole also brings in the huge civil unrest in Britain at the time, with the coming of the Industrial Revolution, and shows people struggling to come to terms with a way of life that was disappearing forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury is still out on Walpole, 1 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Judith Paris (Paperback)
Warning: this review contains spoilers

Hugh Walpole was a hugely popular author in the 1930s but he has fallen out of favour with readers since his death in 1941 and is not widely read nowadays.

I first came across him when Radio 4 dramatised his 'Herries Chronicle' in the early 1970s. The Chronicle consists of four novels which tell the story of a Cumbrian family over two hundred years, from 1730 to 1930.

'Judith Paris' is the second in the series and I re-read it recently to see what my reaction to it would be after 38 years.

Walpole's greatest strength lies in his descriptive powers. His description of the Lakeland scenery and the effect of the weather on the countryside is as good as anything in Hardy. He is also excellent at conjuring up atmosphere, whether it be describing furniture, clothes or food. He knows his period well (the novel covers the years 1774 to 1822) and he uses his knowledge to good effect.

Walpole's weakness lies in his delineation of character. He fails to make any of his characters well-rounded with the exception, maybe, of his eponymous heroine. Walpole paints on a very broad canvas, his characters have powerful emotions and they display grand gestures.There is nothing inherently wrong with such an approach, but I find it unsatisfactory. For example, the suicide of one of the characters dosen't convince as we have not been shown adequately enough why he should have taken his own life.

Some episodes are included which, whilst being well done, don't really add anything to the development of the plot, for example the description of a hanging.

An enjoyable read, but not a great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 30 Nov. 2008
An impetuous character, Judith Paris arouses feelings of both tenderness and despair in those around her and excites the passions of two very different men: the sturdy, affectionate Reuben, her half-cousin; and Georges, a Frenchman, whose wilful nature seems to respond to her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family saga, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
What a relief, after reading modern novels, to read a really good well written novel. In modern novels now characters are texting each other or emailing and I really hate this in a book. Hugh Walpole writes a good story and his descriptions of the Lake District are evocative. I have never read any of his books before and have just finished the second one. Usually when I read a trilogy (or 4 in this case) I have a break in between and read something else, but with the Herries Chronicles I just want to carry straight on when I've finished one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Paris by Hugh Walpole, 1 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
I did so enjoy this second book in The Herris Chronicles, it is jammed packed with beautiful descriptions of the Cumbrian countryside, which brings a picture to your eye as you read. The Characters are all so strong and wonderfully rich in life and eccentricities!
Judith is a fantastic heroine with so much personality and adventure in her soul.
I loved it loved it loved it, a wonderful read, you just have to give it a go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) Used, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This is a review of the seller, not of the content of the book. I ordered 3 of the Herries Chronicles, used, which all arrived from different sellers. This one arrived on time, in excellent condition. I was expecting it to look as though it had been thumbed and read so was very pleasantly surprised to see that the book looked as good as new. I would definitely use this seller again to buy used books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries daughter, 16 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This follows on from the first in the Herries Chronicles and begins with the birth of Judith Paris. After Reading Rogue Herries this is a must. Wonderful story and descriptions of the Lake District life in late 1700s and early 1800s. Watendlath where Judith Paris's home is situated and the surrounding area is a magical place in the Lake District so beautifully discribed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Walpole revisited, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
Years ago the BBC used the Herries Chronicles as a Sunday evening serial. I was hooked and subsequently read Walpole's oeuvre, here re-visited. Judith is an unlikely and perhaps not likeable heroine, but her story races along with panache and Walpole paints her lakeland surroundings into the imagination of the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a research read, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
I bought this book because on holiday this year I discovered Watendlath & found it & the Lakes were a background to Hugh Walpole's novels. In the 1930s I was aware of Walpole as a popular novelist,but never read him,having the general imprtession that his stories were of Cathedral Closes& Victorian Provincials. But even then I noticed his novels had ceased to be library borrowed. So in 2009 I wanted to see what he had made of the Lake District as background.

The critics about him weree right. He is far too long winded & simply took advantage of the demand of the then Rent Book Libraries with thir readers the unfortunate million women who were deprived of normal family life because their men fell in WW1. That HW was gay,ironically, perhaps enabled him to write satisfyingly for them without causing anguish..

So if you love the Lake District HW is OK;but not otherwise. I have also bought "Rogue Herries" & this review can go for that as well. I shall not buy the last 2 Herries novels,but this is because I have far too much reading to do - a minor penalty of being now 91.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judith Paris by Hugh Walpole, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This book is a replacement for a very old copy in too small print.and poorly bound!
This reasonably priced copy has good clear printing enhancing a wonderful story that I am rereading after nearly 50 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles)
Judith Paris (Herries Chronicles) by Hugh Walpole (Paperback - 9 Oct. 2008)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews