Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries
Hugh Walpole seems to have suffered something of a total eclipse since his death in 1941. This is a crying shame. Some of his other books probably wouldn't be to our taste today, but the masterly, poetic Herries saga deserves to be vastly better known than it is now. Walpole wrote a series of 4 novels covering the history of one Cumbrian family from 1720 to 1930...
Published on 19 Mar 2006 by S. Hapgood

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER
One of the very few books which I have closed part read. Characters with keys coming out of their backs. I had hoped to see family traits reasserting themselves over the generations, but no, they just did what would make the so-called plot creak along for a few more pages.
Published 8 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries, 19 Mar 2006
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Paperback)
Hugh Walpole seems to have suffered something of a total eclipse since his death in 1941. This is a crying shame. Some of his other books probably wouldn't be to our taste today, but the masterly, poetic Herries saga deserves to be vastly better known than it is now. Walpole wrote a series of 4 novels covering the history of one Cumbrian family from 1720 to 1930. "Rogue Herries" is the first in the series, set in the 18th century, and the central character is Francis Herries, an eccentric larger-than-life man tortured by a strong romantic streak. He uproots his entire family from Doncaster, and takes them to live in a crumbling manor-house in the wilds of Borrowdale. He earns the reputation of a rogue after selling his fiery, ambitious mistress, Alice Press, at a fair, getting his face badly scarred in a duel, and becoming disastrously obsessed with a young gypsy girl, Mirabell Starr. It is quite hard to sum up a novel (or in this case series of novels) that you love. The Herries saga is a vibrant, colourful, sensual feast of delights. I hate historical novels which skim along on the surface and where you don't get much feel for the people of the time, and also where the author is too busy putting their own modern slant on the era they're writing about. Walpole never falls into this trap. These people live for us. You know what they're eating, drinking, wearing, how they feel about sex, politics, religion, what they do for amusement. This was an era of witchcraft, superstition, and rebellion, and where the people accepted the Devil and mermaids as fact. In my opinion this series doesn't just deserve to be republished (if only because my own copies are in danger of falling to pieces!), but they're calling out to be filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love the Lake District............., 16 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
............you will love this book. I read it many years ago when I did not know the Lake District but with the knowledge of the area I now have it is fantastic reading. As I read I could imagine it almost like a film script as all the places mentioned I have walked many times in the last 17 years. The first book of a family saga leaves you wanting to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herris, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This is the first of four Herris chronicles. If you are used to fast moving adventure stories then the writing style may take a little getting use to but it is well worth the effort. Anyone who loves the Northern Lakes will find the historic description of this area fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Ann Marie Taylor "redann" (liverpool, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
have read all of these books and love them, I do love keswick and borrowdale and the way hugh walpole describes the mountains etc makes you feel like you are there, the stories are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries by Hugh Walpole, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
A replacement for a copy which is too small pint and a inferior.
The clear print on this cop[y makes it easy to read this wonderful story that I first read about 50 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
A book which was recommended by a friend. Really good read and could not put it down! A recommendation is always the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Rogue Herries, A Novel (Hardcover)
An old favourite - buckets of history, period detail, lively characterization, family loyalties and feuding, adventure and mystery: and a great sense of place. Wonderful evocation of Lake District background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) Used, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This is a review of the seller, not of the content of the book. This item arrived very quickly and did not look like a used book! Despite the description (mint condition), I was not expecting it to be this good and was very pleased that I had gone for the Used option. In fact, I also ordered a brand new book at the same time and that arrived with a slightly creased cover! I would definitely use this seller again to purchase used books. A real bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BOTHER, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
One of the very few books which I have closed part read. Characters with keys coming out of their backs. I had hoped to see family traits reasserting themselves over the generations, but no, they just did what would make the so-called plot creak along for a few more pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic book, 10 Aug 2009
By 
J. K. Pool - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) (Paperback)
This turned out to be a book it was hard to put down, which is unusual for a claqssic. It also evoked memories of the Lakes and their history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles)
Rogue Herries (Herries Chronicles) by Hugh Walpole (Paperback - 9 Oct 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews