Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walkers notebook
Excellent `aid memoir` for the walker. Plenty space for walk details and good section for `essential information`. Great present for anyone who walks on a regular basis and wants to keep an accurate record of their achievements. Excellent value.
Published on 31 Jan. 2010 by David J. Rhodes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The notebook is a really good companion for anyone who likes to record their achievements ...
The notebook is a really good companion for anyone who likes to record their achievements - lovely little drawings interspersed with useful pages for notes. I didn't give an excellent rating purely because my copy arrived with a dented spine at the bottom edge (not a very padded jiffy bag) but there was not time to return it for a replacement as I was giving it as a...
Published 3 months ago by clare woodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walkers notebook, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
David J. Rhodes "DJRhodes" (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
Excellent `aid memoir` for the walker. Plenty space for walk details and good section for `essential information`. Great present for anyone who walks on a regular basis and wants to keep an accurate record of their achievements. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Walkers Notebook, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
S. Johnson (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
This is the 3rd book i have bought as a gift - each copy has been thoroughly appreciated and used by the walking enthusiast, who is incidentally now the 4th nutter in England for 2009. (hill walkers will understand what this is!) Each page allows the walker to record details and comments about each individual walk and hill bagging, making a memorable keepsake.The book is also nicely illustrated throughout. I definately recommend this book for dedicated walkers, and you don't have to be a hill walker to use it, any walk you do can be recorded for your future records!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Write your own walking diary like Wainwright, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
J. A. Killick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
I brought this Walkers Notebook as a present for someone who has been going to the Lakes for over 20 years and making their own walking notes in a file. They were thrilled with the notebook as there was good spacing to jot down notes and drawings as well as lovely illustrations from Wainwright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright classic, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
J. Reynolds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
This is delightful as a gift or treat for yourself. This should be in the pocket of every walker, when not on their bookshelf! The great Wainwright, who inspired so many young people into venturing into the wonderful landscape that is Britain, has a charming memorial in this little book. I gave one to my son who was delighted with it. It has space to record observations such as the best pub for food, the best view points to eat your sandwiches, as well as the more serious stuff about safer routes. Give it to a young person to show him/her there is more out there than computer games and mp3s. Who knows - they might even give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The notebook is a really good companion for anyone who likes to record their achievements ..., 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
The notebook is a really good companion for anyone who likes to record their achievements - lovely little drawings interspersed with useful pages for notes. I didn't give an excellent rating purely because my copy arrived with a dented spine at the bottom edge (not a very padded jiffy bag) but there was not time to return it for a replacement as I was giving it as a Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does just what it says on the tin., 25 Sept. 2010
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
A durable cover, it doesn't get damaged from repeatedly being put in and out of my walking rucksack. There's not always enough space to write as much as i'd like for some of the walks because there are pictures at the bottom of many of the pages, (although it could be that i write too much). The pictures are very funny though and very well drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For the Day Walker, 25 Dec. 2009
By 
A. Rayner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
This is very handy for day walkers, but will not neccessarily suit long distance, or multi-day trail followers. That said, it is cheap enough to buy and make up one's own mind if it suits.

It is rugged and well presented, with very amusing little pictures and an index to inform the user whence each derives from Wainwright's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Companion for Any Walker, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant addition to any walkers' library as it enables the recording of each walk that you do and all the details of the walk. The Wainwright drawings etc, are a lovely touch.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes to keep a record of their walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars walking notebook, 22 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
bought as a gift for someone who starts his 630 mile walk today . recipitent was really grateful and loved it , i just hope there are enough pages , ha ha . seriously though , very useful and a protective cover on it too , most handy in the unpredictable british summertime .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant companion, 27 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Walker's Notebook (Paperback)
Although not by AW himself it resonates of him and his work. I will have this as my constant companion to record those many special moments in the Lake District. It is well constructed and presented and the writing paper is really good. Excellent guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Walker's Notebook
A Walker's Notebook by Alfred Wainwright (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews