Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars have confidence in yourself as childcare fashions change, 27 May 2002
I had a copy of this book when my first child was born in 1984. By showing how the fads and fashions of childcare developed and changed for each generation it gave me the confidence to trust my own judgment and intuition with my own babies instead of taking the latest shiny new childcare manual as a kind of bible...I would recommend it to any new parent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating history of childcare advice through the ages, 11 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford (Paperback)
I'm delighted that a new and updated edition of Dream Babies is coming out. I have a well-thumbed copy of the 1984 edition, which I've often turned to to remind myself that fashions in childcare come and go, and that "experts" frequently get in the way of maternal instinct. One of my favourite books, and I'll definitely be reading the new version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Historian childcare i have ever read!, 18 Jun 2003
From start to finish, Dream babies gives an exciting look into the history of child rearing from potty training to disipline from the 1700s to the 1980s. I couldnt put this book down and have read it over 6 times in the last 4 years.
How things have changed!
Many things that was taken for proper upright upbringing of ones children shocked me to the core and made me think of what the NSPCC would think nowadays.
The authoress takes you through an amazing journey which you can 'see' in your minds eye.
The book includes photograghs of old fashioned perambulators, cots and nursing devices of old and is packed full from start to finish with advice of old from famous people as Spock, Locke, Truby King and Freud.
A must to read for anyone who is interested in childhood history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford (Paperback)
This is a fantastic overview of babycare literature and the different trends that have emerged over the past two and a half centuries. As a new parent, it is incredibly reassuring to read that experts do not agree, and to realise that no matter which path you choose, someone will agree with you and someone won't. It also helps put the advice that you're given into context and is a good antidote to the fear instilled by those childcare experts who hint that the world will fall apart of you don't follow their advice.

My only complaint is that on occasion there are too many of Hardyment's own wry comments and asides. As a survey of literature and ideas, I felt a little more objectivty was needed. Although she marks out clearly that she herself is of the Spock generation and that this is bound to influence her assessment of the different babycare approaches, it is possible to achieve some distance from that and offer fewer evaluative comments. Also, on the odd occasion I had to reread passages to work out if the comments were her thoughts or those of the author she was discussing.

Nonetheless, it was thoroughly enjoyable and informative. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who feels overwhelmed by the advice out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford (Paperback)
Dream Babies is an excellent book, very well researched and in a very readable style. You get the impression that the author has been very thorough and thoughtful in putting the book together. I was very impressesed, when I came to the end of the book, to see how extensive the bibliography was, yet the author has sympathetically condensed and refined all this knowledge into a cohesive, accessible account of childcare through the ages. Both comforting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dream Babies - Childcare advice from Locke to Ford, 15 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford (Paperback)
A thoroughly well researched book on how we've ended up in the mess of childcare fads and how going back to basics might be the best approach. Well written and readable despite probably appealing more to an academic audience - so don't be sniffy, give it a read and learn oodles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill', 17 Aug 2014
By 
TJ MCGINN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford (Paperback)
Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford
Dream Babies: Childcare advice from John Locke to Gina Ford by Christina Hardyment (Paperback - 31 Oct 2007)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews