Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Companion To The Central Fells, 30 April 2009
By 
JH Dickinson (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have used a Wainwright guide before, you won't need to be informed any further just how wonderful these pocket books are. However, if you are a newcomer to the fells, or haven't come across this series yet, then please believe me when I say that there is simply no better companion to exploring the peaks of the Lake District.

For those whose interest is purely to walk the fells, these books cover every angle of the mountains to a remarkable extent, including route descriptions, maps, summit views, and some beautiful hand-drawn pictures by the author. Be aware that these guides cover the fells only, though, so for a wider coverage regarding attractions, etc. within the Lake District, you will require another guidebook in addition. I know that for me, at least, these books are more than enough!

Wainwright's books were fastidious and personal account of his Lakeland, which makes them a thoroughly enjoyable read - all too often now, most guides just describe facts in an incredibly detached manner, and how to get the most for your money.

Though I have a great deal of affection for the original books, I would recommend the revised editions, updated by Chris Jesty, which are distinguished from the original editions by the colour photographs on the cover. Wainwright himself was more than aware that in the future his guides would become steadily inaccurate, since mountain paths come and go over 50 years, and Mr Jesty has done a diligent job in detailing changes that have occurred to the original routes and their environment, whilst maintaining the spirit of the original guides. In addition, the paths are marked in red ink on the maps, making them much easier to follow whilst on the fells.

Though the book of each area is, in my opinion, essential whilst walking in that region of the Lakes, I must make some comment regarding the specific details of this book, The Central Fells. The region that could be considered the heart of the Lake District is not necessarily the highest, though it contains some of the most spectacular panoramas, especially from the summits of the Langdale Pikes. In addition, this area contains a personal, though perhaps unconventional, favorite of mine - Helm Cragg. I find that even in moody, overcast weather, I experience a certain solace standing amongst its shattered crown. Plus, it it not a particularly demanding climb.

In short, if you are new to walking in an area of the fells, or merely want a new perspective, these books are essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright lives!, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Southern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
This is an astonishingly good revision of the classic guide, which I have used for many years. If you're going to use it 'in anger' it's to be preferred to the original edition.

In a sense, Chris Jesty does himself an injustice, because his new material is spliced in so incredibly well with Wainwright's, both in style and in lettering, that it's often only when you look at the original that you realise that it actually is new material.

Also, the quality of the reproduction is excellent - better, as far as I can see, than that of the later printings of the first edition

The same comments apply to the revised 'Central Fells', and, on the strength of these excellent volumes, I have ordered the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential walking companion, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Vinny (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
This was the first Wainwright guide I bought after reading the excellent reviews and the reputation of the author, Alfred Wainwright. It's hard to believe that these books were first published over 50 years ago. They remain the best guides to walking in the Lake District - there is nothing to touch them. They are so good that I ended up buying the whole collection. If you are a newcomer to fell walking then I would highly recommend you purchase one. They cover all the fells in great detail, the drawings of the fells and routes are excellent and they show you things from the unique perspective of the author, things you'd never see on an OS map. It's no wonder Wainwright is held in such high regard.

I would also recommend the revised versions as the red pathways make things easier to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Southern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
These 'little' books are a masterpieces that are not only fun to read but very useful too. This updated edition keep them a must have even long after they were first published, helping anybody make the most of their time exploring the fells of lakeland. Couldn't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Met my expectations in every way. Can't wait to explore the fells described. Drawings are excellent, if u like the lakes buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Central Fells second edition, 6 July 2012
By 
Jim (The Lake district) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent Wainwright book revised by Chris Jesty,A copy always with me when out on the Fells,Lots of updated Maps and information,I would recommend this book to any ardent Fell walker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AW at his best, a must for all walkers!, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Southern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Really detailed and makes the adventure more exciting. AW is very passionate about the fells which shows through in the detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really useful, 15 Nov 2011
a good read - now updated to include new features like car parks etc that were not really an issue when his nibs wrote the originals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright update, 2 Aug 2010
Great book as you would expect, but extra colour for footpaths aids clarity. "Wainwrights" just got better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright Southern Fell Guide, 28 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Southern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Great book, well detailed maps - can't wait to try some of them out.
Did have problem with initial order as some 14 pages in the middle (even side) were blank, but new book sent out straight away - good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Southern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews