Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a volume to be savored and returned to again and again
The ideal garden we are given to understand is a paradise - "a haven of comfort, abundance, and beauty." Many of us try to achieve that paradigm in our own way, as have countless others before us. Now gathered in one gorgeous volume are the results of those endeavors gleaned from diverse cultures and climes.

We begin our armchair tour with "Gardens Through the...
Published on 6 Dec 2006 by Gail Cooke

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like this book
I didn't like this book and have given it away to a friend soon after I received it. Did not stand up to my expectations at all.
Published 19 months ago by Holmfridur Diana Magnusdottir


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a volume to be savored and returned to again and again, 6 Dec 2006
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
The ideal garden we are given to understand is a paradise - "a haven of comfort, abundance, and beauty." Many of us try to achieve that paradigm in our own way, as have countless others before us. Now gathered in one gorgeous volume are the results of those endeavors gleaned from diverse cultures and climes.

We begin our armchair tour with "Gardens Through the Centuries," a journey covering four thousand years beginning with the earliest gardens alive in the deserts of the Middle East. The first Mughal Emperor Babur (1483 - 1530) had a number of gardens including the Garden of Fidelity which was divided into four parts with a central pool.

Of course, the gardens designed in China and Japan expressed a respect for nature, evidenced in vast areas where the placement of each stone had meaning. Places for contemplation, stroll and moss gardens were found in Japan.

For this reader what can compare with the gardens of Italy? Hadrian's Villa near Tivoli boasts open porticoes, enclosed atriums, fountains, basins, statuary. It is a wonder. La Mortola on the Italian Riviera is a place for dreaming with a steep slope to the sea rich in agaves, aloes, white roses, salvias and citrus trees. A virtual Eden on earth.

Ms. Hobhouse continues our tour with a look at modern garden design as represented by such designers as Roberto Burle Marx, Fernando Caruncho, and Beth Chatto.

"In Search of Paradise" holds 240 pages and 200 illustrations all in glorious color contributed by the world's foremost garden photographers.

The is a volume to be savored and returned to again and again.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 240 pages!, 24 Nov 2007
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
Gardens are meant to be paradise on earth. The idea of paradise as a garden has a long history, even before the Garden of Eden was presented in the Bible. What the paradise looks like, there is hardly specific description. The description of the Garden of Eden was not very specific either, yet it gave the garden designer some ideas.

In every culture, garden designers seek paradise through their own creative ways. Penelope Hobhouse, one of the most talented garden writers of our time, started her tour of paradise on earth in Asia: the serene naturalistic gardens and symbolism in China, and the Zen gardens and tea gardens in Japan. She then took us to continental Europe: the hilly regions of Italy where lavish gardens are balanced with the use of axes and symmetry, and gardens in Germany, Netherlands and Russia, as well as the climax of formal gardens, the French gardens.

Penelope Hobhouse's next stop is England. She discussed in detail the naturalistic Landscape Gardens, the Cottage-style Gardens, and the Eclectic Gardens. She also explored Mediterranean gardens and gardens in America: European influences and naturalistic gardens.

Last but not least, Penelope Hobhouse discuss today's gardens: water in gardens, gardens and nature, selecting right plants for right sites, reclaiming and revitalizing, and roof gardens, etc.

To Penelope, an ideal garden is "at the balance point between human control and untamed nature."

"Great Gardens of the World: In Search of Paradise" has 240 pages and many beautiful interior colour photos. It is a fine garden book that every garden lovers should have.

Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated." LEED AP, AIA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for a friend. Pictures lovely and he seemed very pleased with it. Very good condition and speedily despatched. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Rob Roy "Boy" (Angus ,Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
All is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipient thrilled, 11 Oct 2010
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
I gifted this to my aunt who is a writer, traveller and gardener and she was thrilled with the quality of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like this book, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World (Hardcover)
I didn't like this book and have given it away to a friend soon after I received it. Did not stand up to my expectations at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World
In Search of Paradise: Great Gardens of the World by Penelope Hobhouse (Hardcover - 21 Sep 2006)
29.36
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews