Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
As a member of the Mawson family I have a subjective viewpoint on this book, but this review is based on first impressions having pawed through my copy. Firstly this is a big weighty book (Marketplace sellers haven't a snowball's chance in hell of posting this for 2.75!). Secondly the book is beautifully laid out, the photos and other illustrations complmenting the text...
Published on 29 May 2009 by Chris M.

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed!
I am the granddaughter of Robert Mattocks, Mawson's nephew who worked on several projects with him and features in the book - and in each of the photographs where the author refers to him, it's someone else! Not him!

I am so disappointed because it makes me wonder what else may be incorrect? I haven't read it through yet; in a way I daren't in case I find more...
Published on 4 Sep 2009 by Bev Mattocks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 29 May 2009
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
As a member of the Mawson family I have a subjective viewpoint on this book, but this review is based on first impressions having pawed through my copy. Firstly this is a big weighty book (Marketplace sellers haven't a snowball's chance in hell of posting this for 2.75!). Secondly the book is beautifully laid out, the photos and other illustrations complmenting the text admirably. The author has spent years (and probably several thousand air miles) researching this book and it's a relief to see the publishers have put as much effort into its design.

It's also very gratifying to see Janet Waymark giving credit to Thomas Mawson's immediate family for the success of Thomas H Mawson & Sons, as the firm was styled. In the past, several schemes (such as Blackpool's Stanley Park) were erroneously credited to THM personally, rather than the firm, and this book will help to put that right. However, it remains at heart a biography of Mawson himself, one of the foremost garden designers of his day, yet one who some drifted off the radar of Garden History very rapidly, barely featuring in any book on the subject until the 1990s (e.g. George Plumptre's Great Gardens Great Designers).

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscape, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
A lush, coffee table book. Really too heavy for easy reading (wait for a paperback?). But clearly laid out - comprehensive and well researched. The photos are superb. Best book on Mawson to date.

Having now read and considered more thoroughly such a tour de force, I am not quite as enthusiastic. The author seems determined to avoid critical comment about Mawson and his work. It would have been interesting if she had compared his rather eclectic designs with the opposition, why his ventures into Canada, Greece and Australia were largely failures. Above all the nature of a man whose achievements were phenominal. How did he organise his life? As he was away from home most of his time, how did he communicate his wishes to his office? We needed more about his relationships with others, his wife, family and friends and particularly with his eldest son Edward Prentice, when schemes in the later years may have been largely his own, although still carrying his father's imprint: ie could the old man delegate?

Mawson was clearly sensitive about his position in the social hierarchy, which is another aspect the author could have expanded. Since he was never an architect, it was intriguing to see that RIBA made him an honorary associate, a qualification he used on at least one of the schemes illustrated. As one who lives a mile from his Lancaster office, it would have been instructive to learn what hapened to his practice and family afetr his death

Hers is still the best book on Mawson so far, but there is room for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mawson, a "Garden Poet", 1 Feb 2010
By 
Kouzapa Maria (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
Studying "Thomas Mawson: Life,Gardens and Landscapes" by Janet Waymark, has been an extreme pleasure. The descriptions are so detailed that travel the reader back to time and into Mawson's life and work.I feld almost sad for not being able to meet this "poet of gardens" and get lost in his romantic gardens like Beatrix Potter. The quality of paper, printing and the clarity of photos are excellent.The information given is so much that made it rather difficult for me to choose which of all to include in my project.This book is very helpfull for candidate Landscape Architects like me. Very well done!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
Mawson took to the wonderful elements of the Cumbria landscape to many gardens - a well researched book, visit cumbria and the gardens he made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I work in a house that has a spectacular garden designed by Mawson so wanted to know more about him. It's a beautiful book, well written with lots of lovely photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Rob Roy "Boy" (Angus ,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
All is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Mawson Life, Gardens and landscapes, 17 July 2009
By 
Mrs. M. H. Leslie (Blackburn Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
As this book is about my grandfather i was particularly anxious to obtain it and I was not dissapointed. the illustrations are supurb and the text,though on the academic and over detailed side to be accessible to the general reader, I enjoyed it very much and particularly the autobiographical parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed!, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes (Hardcover)
I am the granddaughter of Robert Mattocks, Mawson's nephew who worked on several projects with him and features in the book - and in each of the photographs where the author refers to him, it's someone else! Not him!

I am so disappointed because it makes me wonder what else may be incorrect? I haven't read it through yet; in a way I daren't in case I find more incorrect info...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes
Thomas Mawson: Life, Gardens and Landscapes by Janet Waymark (Hardcover - 28 May 2009)
32.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews