Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULIMATE GUIDES TO LAKELAND FELLS
This special edition boxed set of seven Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland must rank amongst the finest and detailed set of guide books for walkers and lovers of the Lake District, situated in Cumbria, England.
The meticulous detail and minute accuracy, together with the drawings, sketches and notes make these guide books unique.
Guides to the Lakeland have...
Published on 1 Nov. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review of pennine way by wainwright
it was not what i was expecting, the printing is poor, as i noticed it was printed in Thailand, not that this is probelm with the country but the print quality and the legibility to read it is poor.

.
Published 19 months ago by peter hodge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULIMATE GUIDES TO LAKELAND FELLS, 1 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This special edition boxed set of seven Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland must rank amongst the finest and detailed set of guide books for walkers and lovers of the Lake District, situated in Cumbria, England.
The meticulous detail and minute accuracy, together with the drawings, sketches and notes make these guide books unique.
Guides to the Lakeland have appeared since 1770, so these guides are therefore not original, but they are distinctive in concentrating on individual fells, over 200 of them, and are not walking tour guides.
Book 1 initially starts with fells over 1400 feet, but in later books fells of over 1000 feet are included, but there is one fell included of 985 feet which is noted as a 'protuberance' rather than as a fell.
The guides give the ways up,the ways down, what is to be seen at the top and the connecting ridges with other fells.
The Lake District has been divided up in different ways by different authors. It has been likened to a wheel with spokes emanating out from the centre. Wainwright has worked out his own method of caputuring all the fells, has divided them into seven distinct areas, and then worked out the length of each book, how many fells to include, and how many pages to devote to each fell, all the while trying to keep each book about the same length.
These guides are one persons work, unique and now universally distinctive. It is hard to imagine the time and the effort that has gone into compilling these books, the pen and ink drawings, maps and sketches, the handwritten notes and thumbnail sketches to fill up each page. Each line is justified and no word has had to be hyphenated. These books have been printed exactly as they were written and drawn by the author. All the printers had to do was to print them exactly as they were received! All in all, a remarkable feat, one I believe will never again be undertaken by any author on such a scale.
These guides are little treasures, their accuracy can be guaranteed over the past 50 years since they were first published, and their size encourages the possesser to slip the appropriate volume into their coat pocket before each walk.
If there is one criticism, it is that one would not wish to spoil the books by getting them wet or by tearing the pages whilst out walking. I would therefore leave them at home to read and enjoy before and after each walk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked for me..., 17 Nov. 2009
By 
Tricky Woo (Zürich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
The Wainwright Guides came up at lunch as Subject of the Day. Dunno why, but it did. Anyways, here's a synopsis of the long, rambling story I told about my own Pennine Way trek donkey's years ago... and how Wainwright's Pennine Way Companion became my *only* companion.

I started off at Edale with the entire Pennine Way afore me, armed with umpteen maps at 25,000 scale, lots of "improving books", spare sets (plural) of clothes, extra shoes, kagoul jacket and trousers, intact kneecaps, and plenty of resolve. Oh yes, resolve aplenty. And I of course took along a copy of the Wainwright's Pennine Way Companion, as should you, Dear Reader, 'cos it's a classic. A few days in, and my kneecaps had worn away, both feet had blistered up nicely, and the contents of my rucksack were crushing my city-slicker shoulder muscles. I was really in a sorry state. Something had to give, so I did what many of you lot will do if you ever get tackle the Pennine Way yerselves: I boxed up all unnecessary weighty, non-weighty, and featherlight items, (and squeezed out any unnecessary air from inside the rucksack)and mailed 'em home. Good riddance to the lot of it.

And second class, 'cos it's cheaper, and I wouldn't be home for a while anyways. Not at this rate.

So off went the Improving Books, most of the spare clothes, spare shoes, *all* the maps, and much much more. One of the few things to survive The Shedding was Wainwright's book, which became my *only* navigational aid for the next couple of weeks. Erm, probably not the best advice, but it worked out well for me. I remember well studying the Book (note the capitalised letter) every night before lights off, and also every morning over cooked breakfast. Never failed me, and I only got lost (erm) twice. Maybe three times.

So buy it. And do *not* use it as your only navigational aid. Only a daft sod with knackered knees, hips and shoulders would take such desperate measures...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pennine Way, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. M. P. Stead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a Wainwright Classic - full of irascible opinions, fine line drawings, and a wealth of information. He did not like the Pennine Way much - I did, having just done it - but a lot has been done on the route to stablaise the path since this was written. If you like Wainwright, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Wainwright., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have walked the Pennine Way 3 times End to End. & Wainwrights Guide is still the Best. Even though written many years ago, This is still the most definitive Guide available. I would recommend it to anyone. It is also a great Read for anyone contemplating This Fantastic Long Distance Footpath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jesty refreshes AW so well!, 27 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eastern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
Just bought all seven of AW's Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland fells as revised by Chris Jesty. Through Amazon they were half the price charged in some Lake Disrict shops and, especially with the routes now marked in RED, I am very well pleased with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Wainwright, 1 Aug. 2012
By 
hypnobear (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a present for my husband, who is a Wainwright enthousiast. He has enjoyed it very much, and it is filled with teh typical Wainwrightian pen adn ink sketches which really amke the books. A lovely addition to our collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Been there, didn't do much of it the , couldn't do it now!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eastern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
A superb guide to the Fells. I last walked there in the 1950s, bought this book for the Wainwright illustrations and the memories. The BBC 'Wainwright Walks' TV series with Julia Bradbury prompted me to buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars review of pennine way by wainwright, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was not what i was expecting, the printing is poor, as i noticed it was printed in Thailand, not that this is probelm with the country but the print quality and the legibility to read it is poor.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a superb update to the brilliant original. If I was just starting out to ..., 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eastern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
My original copy is well used. This is a superb update to the brilliant original. If I was just starting out to climb the Lakeland Fells then I think I'd buy this second edition as its been updated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect guide to the Lakes, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eastern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells) (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of AW for years and finally bought the books to guide me up and down the fells
The pictorial guides contain an incredible amount of information and details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eastern Fells Second Edition (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells)
£12.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews