Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


156 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but you have a choice
These books are truly a Lakeland Companion. In the pages the author not only sets out the details of the fells (with scrupulous accuracy) but shares himself. And this is not in an intrusive way; indeed it is rare insight into the thinking of a middle-aged man of 40 plus years ago.

As guide books the series is second to none. They are brilliantly designed for...
Published on 28 Aug. 2007 by Mr. Michael Lumsden

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wainwright pictorial guide
got my delivery through no problems, thank you. i bought this product for a present for my husband was so pleased when i recieved it as he has been wanting the guides for a long time.would definatley order again thanks again.
Published on 11 Nov. 2012 by trackie009


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The classic guides to the lakeland fells., 17 April 2011
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
Without doubt the set of books everyone in the UK should own, AW's love-letter to the area he moved his life for are a classic. Penguin stated they no longer wanted to publish them and more fool them for doing so. Frances Lincoln's publishing has updated and really done justice to AW's fine line pen and ink drawings. Whilst not all the paths are accurate these are a great way to spend an evening with an OS map to plan your next visit to the lakeland.

Worth owning by everyone as a pinnacle of what a walking guidebook should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright boxed set, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
Bought this wonderful set of Wainwright books for a colleage who was leaving to take early retirement (he is a very outdoorsie type of person) He was absolutely over the moon and couldnt wait to get stuck in and follow some of the wonderful walks depicted in this set. Brownie points for me!! and some good reading and fab walks for him - a winner all round i would say xWainwright Pictorial Guides Boxed Set (Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright, 28 Mar. 2009
By 
Clive Bourne (Worcestershire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
An excellent reproduction of what for many enthusiastic walkers is an old `friend`. For younger less experienced lovers of the Lake District it opens a vista of delight and a reliable guide to discover and experience walks enjoyed by thousands before them.

It is a treasury of clear instructive description supported by simple maps of well loved paths through this beautiful part of our Country.These seven Pictorial Guides provide valuable information and at the same time evoke memories for older walkers of long taken pleasures. Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wainwrights walks, 14 July 2009
By 
A. Lewis (barnsley,england.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
Item in question was delivered really quickly.Was well boxed and wrapped,it was of a very good quality and at a reasonable price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright guides, 30 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present for my husband. He was a keen cyclist in the north of England in his earlier days and used these guides a lot. He didn't have any copies left so when I saw this edition I knew I had found something he would really like. He does like them and they are being used though now in a nostalgic way and just to jog his memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY PARTNER FOR VALETINES DAY, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I would buy something different for my partner for Valentines day (instead of a boring teddy bear) This book was well received, my partner loves it, he has already planned a walk to do from the book, says he is going to choose an easy one to start with! as some of the walks are quite challenging, but we looking forward to trying one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wainwright's pictorial guides, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
I got this as a gift for my son in law, as he and my daughter are mad about hill walking. He was thrilled to get them, they are a good size for a pocket and each book contains a good number of walks in one area of the lake district. Beautifully and clearly illustrated, I think they will find these books invaluable over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wainwright's wonderful, 18 May 2009
By 
C. M. Noble (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
Everyone knows this series. These are wonderful books to be read if you are going to the Lake District or if you are simply imagining being there! I like these original books to keep on my book shelf. I should use the Jesty edited Wainwright books for actual walking in the Lake District for preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 12 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
Excellent Value for money,half the normal retail price. Ideal gift for Christmas for a walker. The reader is made to feel part of the walk through the little anecdotes & pictures Wainwright included.
It was delivered very quickly, despite it being so close to Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 4 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells (Hardcover)
I bought this item for my husband who is a keen walker. He found it fasinatind and extremely useful for plotting walks. The individual books makes sorting he different areas much easier. Very nicely presented, great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wainwright Pictorial Guides To The Lakeland Fells
Used & New from: £44.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews