Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen's World brought to life
This is without a doubt one of the best Jane Austen related books. Le Faye starts with a concise biography of Jane Austen, to help readers put her life into some sort of historical context. The second part of the book deals with all sorts of Life & Times issues - carriages, clothing, occupations, architecture, coinage, filigree.... and of course she explains that...
Published on 18 Jan 2005 by Mrs. D. J. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book
I was given the book as a Christmas gift and I occasionally dip into it. I think it would be useful if you are studying Austen.
Published 19 months ago by margaret o'neill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen's World brought to life, 18 Jan 2005
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
This is without a doubt one of the best Jane Austen related books. Le Faye starts with a concise biography of Jane Austen, to help readers put her life into some sort of historical context. The second part of the book deals with all sorts of Life & Times issues - carriages, clothing, occupations, architecture, coinage, filigree.... and of course she explains that Gowlands Lotion, so heartily recommended by Sir Walter Elliot in Persuasion, was actually a sort of chemical peel!
The third part of the book looks at each of the novels in turn, and includes the fragments The Watsons and Sandition. Le Faye gives a synopsis of the plot of each novel and along the way picks out things for us that would have needed no explanation to contemporary readers, but may now need some enlargement. For example in the Sense & Sensibility chapter she tells us about the places in London where the characters live or lodge, and what this says about them and their status.
On top of all this, the book is beautifully illustrated with period county maps, contemporary portraits that match Austen's character descriptions and of course illustrations of all the Life & Times elements discussed - filigree work, fashion plates, coinage examples, etc. In a word: Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting background detail, 23 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. Sj Dilley "Stephen Dilley" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
If you want a book which provides in-depth analysis into the wealth of characterisation, psychology etc. in Jane Austen's work, this isn't the book for you. If however, you want something which tells you all about the background behind her writing the novels, both in terms of the circumstances of their compostion, and int erms of life and social trends in that period, I would whole-heartedly recommend this book. Also, this is a book which does exactly what it says on the cover, it tells you abot the world of her novels. le Faye has meticulously extracted every last detail from her novels, to create a comprehensive guide to the settings of her books. For example, when talking about Emma, we are led through the town of Highbury, with Le Faye confidently describing every last building and its relation to the events of the story. Another example would be in Persuasion, where Le Faye gave the correct order of precedence for the charaacters when entering and leaving the room.
This is not just a book about the early 19th century, nor is it just a book about Jane Austen. For anyone who longs to be a character in a Jane Austen novel, this is for you. SOmething drew me to this book, as just being a fundamentally nice book to have. Perhaps not an outstandingly scholarly read, but enjoyable and fascinating nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant presentation of Jane Austens world, 7 May 2006
By 
Persephone (Athens/sydney) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
Le Faye has written an exceptional book which truly sets the reader in the time period Austen was writing.What impressed me most was the very readable style it has been written in with close attention to all details mentioned in her novels truly assisting the reader to have a feel of what was going on in England socially and economically aswell as highlighting world affairs at the time.

A great companion to add depth in ones appreciation of Jane Austen novels as well as detailed explanations to social life and nuiances in Regency England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
If you like Jane Austen ,you will like this informative and well written history of her times life and period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
I was given the book as a Christmas gift and I occasionally dip into it. I think it would be useful if you are studying Austen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It gave wonderful background to her novels, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Savill "miles" (hampshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
This was very broad and gave me a good and useful background to Jane Austen and her time,short of a detailed biography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paperback, 21 April 2014
By 
Konstanze Allsopp (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
It's by all accounts a great book about Jane Austen and her novels and a MUST for Jane Austen lovers. So why publish it only as a paperback where it will fall apart after the 3rd or 4th reading (or even after the 2nd). What a waste of money on a book (or the farce that calls itself a Kindle), which would get place of pride in my library. Any chance the publisher will suddenly get a sudden intellectual high and give us real book lovers a hard back version? Probably not. Even people who look as if they had a brain pull those computerised flimsy net/pad books out of their pockets and think they look cool. I'd give it no stars if I could and I would have loved to have been able to repair my paperback after its second outing - yes, of course, I read my books time and time again. What's the point of having stacks and stacks of books if you don't like to read them - repeatedly?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 8 Feb 2009
By 
K. Swain "KT" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
Interesting book which gives an insight to the time of Jane Austen putting her books in context. Worth a read for Austen fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the world of jane, 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels (Paperback)
This book arrived promptly and instantly took me to the world of Jane (and Lizzy, Emma, Marianne etc). It is full of interesting background information which is set out in a form that is easy to read. I am really enjoying reading it and know that it is something that I will refer back to in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels
Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels by Deirdre Le Faye (Paperback - 1 Sep 2003)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews