Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it if only for the puddings and introduction
Many of the recipes in this book are quite daunting and indeed I do not see myself tackling most of them or will confine myself to more simple versions. Despite the shortcomings I mentioned earlier, I love this book mostly for Debo's witty prose, reminiscences of growing up as one of the Mitford sisters, later being Duchess of Devonshire and the phenomenon of what is...
Published on 13 May 2009 by grumpyyoungwoman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good old cuisine
A nice documents of good old time and good old grand cuisine.
Inspirational and nice to keep in the kitchen.
My copy was used but arrived very dirsty with grain, pieces of flour, a little ball of salt, all signals of long use. Moving to see that.
Published on 10 Jan. 2012 by Anna M. Giusti


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it if only for the puddings and introduction, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Many of the recipes in this book are quite daunting and indeed I do not see myself tackling most of them or will confine myself to more simple versions. Despite the shortcomings I mentioned earlier, I love this book mostly for Debo's witty prose, reminiscences of growing up as one of the Mitford sisters, later being Duchess of Devonshire and the phenomenon of what is today one of the UK's favourite stately homes- all written with food as a unifying theme.

In this book; Debo shares recipes from her mother, sisters, friends and chefs who work in Chatsworth as well as her and her husband's favourites. Having made some of the dishes in this book, my experience is they do work, especially the puddings.

I recommend this to anyone who loves history and puddings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 21 April 2009
By 
Mr. Edward C. Mitchell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Extra-ordinarily good read. Although unlikely you will tackle all the recipes, they nonetheless make extremely diverting reading. Practical, no nonsense, and very witty. What more could you ask of a book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chatsworth Cookery Book, 6 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Brilliant receipes from a time gone by. Would highly reccomend it and it makes a good read anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good old cuisine, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
A nice documents of good old time and good old grand cuisine.
Inspirational and nice to keep in the kitchen.
My copy was used but arrived very dirsty with grain, pieces of flour, a little ball of salt, all signals of long use. Moving to see that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
I found this book extremely enjoyable and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Many thanks. Prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chatsworth Cookery Book (Hardcover)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chatsworth Cookery Book
Chatsworth Cookery Book by The Duchess of Devonshire (Hardcover - 9 Oct. 2003)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews