Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and instructive, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
An excellent introduction and reference book for growing salad plants. The usual supects are covered as well as some rather more obscure ones. Creatively illustrated with marvelous photography, Larkcom firstly arranges chapters of salad plants such as stems and stalks, fruiting vegetables etc., as you would expect, but also flowers, herbs and wild plants. She then turns her attention to cultivation and finally ends with a few recipes. Anyone interested in starting a small kitchen garden, allotment or potager will find this invaluable and desperately inspiring. Joy Larkcom has been growing food since the seventies and her knowlege and clear style are inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful photos, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
As a beginner gardener, I find this book an inspiration, especially with the photos showing exactly what the leaf looks like. The recipes at the end of the book are also fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great salad tips!, 14 July 2014
By 
Kitty (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
Fabulous book. Purchased for ongoing organic gardening project. Great salad tips!

The book is concise and well laid out. It contains numerous well taken pictures and comprehensive information.

The information contained is in depth enough to provide sustained interest to more experienced gardeners but also explains things in a down to earth way ideal for beginners. This book is an inspirational text which I would highly recommend - great for reading from cover to cover but also ideal as a quick reference.

I would recommend this book to other Amazon readers with an interest in Organic Gardening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
A very informative book. I love salad and a complete book on the subject is a great addition to my bookshelf. Having just taken over a rather overgrown allotment, I intend to grow lots of salad as it will give me inspiration being so fast growing and make me keep digging harder to improve the rest of the patch.
The book is well set out in chapters covering all salads and vegtables that can be used in salad either raw or cooked. The photos and illustrations enhance.
All in all a beautiful book that I am very pleased I bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and healthy nutrition combined, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Roger Baker (Cloghvoola, Co Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
Along with Charles Dowding's 'Salad Leaves for all Seasons', possibly, the most important gardening book that you will ever buy. Learn to love salad leaves by growing them organically and enjoy the immediate health benefits that they provide. I've just bought a second copy for my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for herb and salad growers, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
An amazing book full of advice and tips for all salad crops that can be grown in the UK! Great for the garden grower and the smallholder and everyone in between!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joy Larkcom, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Adam Ritchie (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Organic Salad Garden (Paperback)
Good garden writer, though I'm not as blown over as some by her books. On the other hand, she did bring us "Salad Leaves", with mixed salad leaf seeds all planted together, which fantastic for every garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Organic Salad Garden
The Organic Salad Garden by Joy Larkcom (Paperback - 1 Jun 2003)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews