Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful introduction to the magic & power of vanGogh, 19 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Lusciously illustrated in a "mock van Gogh" style that adds to the understanding of his paintings, this book will delight your toddler and your older child, too. Based on real events (though clearly the edited highlights) it will help your child to understand the magic of art, and not just van Gogh's. No happy endings though, this is real life. Anholt treats the delicate subject of Vincent's mental instability and the ear-mutilation episode with sensitivity, understanding and pathos. Camille, the little boy in the title, struggles to come to terms with intolerence and misunderstanding through ignorance, whilst trying to be a real friend to Vincent. It is utterly charming and I have read it and re-read to my kids - because we all like it so much! This is not Anholt's only foray into making "high-brow" subjects like fine art accessible to children. His books on Degas and Picasso are also entirely enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for literacy and art cross-curricular links., 21 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
A lovely book with excellent illustrations encorporating Van Gough's own art work. This book gives a fictional view of Van Gough's thoughts behind some of his most beautiful work. The book comes complete with lesson ideas for year 2, although I used the book with a reception class as we were looking at Van Gough's sunflowers. It was a big hit as the children built up empathy with Van Gough and they produced brillant paintings themselves. It does not mention the ear!! and so is suitable for a primary age and is a fantastic teaching tool, and an easy to afford price!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to introduce children to art., 28 Sept. 2005
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) (Paperback)
I think this is a wonderful way to introduce children to the paintings of Van Gogh through a gentle story of Van Gogh's time in Camille's town. All the illustrations are in a Van Gogh-esque style and the yellow fields, night sky, house and chair etc appear just in the background illustrations. In addition there are reproductions of some portraits and the famous sunflower painting. The story is quite sad as it reflects the true story where Van Gogh is not accepted by the people of the town, but his unhappiness is relatively implicit so my children (2&4) understand this as teasing rather than anything stronger, and at the end when Van Gogh leaves but they just assume he's off to paint elsewhere. If you wanted to draw out lessons on being different, talk about great masters etc. this is a very good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars learning about art in an interesting, educational way, 15 May 2010
This review is from: Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) (Paperback)
my son and i really like this book,
it has taught him about van gogh, and enablied him to see and appreciate van goghs paintings within the book too as part of the story,

it has taught him about painting, about inspiration of painting.
it has also shown how while some people may criticise others and their work for being 'different', as they did van gogh, in time, the opposite may happen, and with van gogh, thousands of people loving his work.

as well as the story, which is based around facts, there the actual facts in the back of the book, that the story in this book is based on (i.e. the time Van Gogh spent in Camille's town, and drew pictures of Cammile, his dad and other members of this family- and we see these paintings in the book too).

from what i've seen of these book, i really recommend this series-
our local library has not stocked them yet(i think they ought to though), so may request them, or finish buying the whole series.

this is the best series that i've found for introducing painters to children, as it is done in such an interesting story, in a beautifully illustrated way, and with facts too woven into the story beautifully....
(though i do hope to find more art books that are also excellent).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Day Children's Classic, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
Camille and the Sunflowers is a great introduction to the world of art. It is beautifully illustrated.Children are introduced ot Vincent's life and works. Original paintings merge with wonderfully illustrated watercolours.The book is visually appealing to the younger child.There is a social and moral message to this book.Camille seems to be Vincent's only supporter as the villagers turn against him.Camille's father tells us that people often laugh at things that are different. I like the way it shows children to be accepting of difference and being non-judgemental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book for use in school, 4 April 2009
By 
C. Winton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Used this book as an introduction to Van Gogh for year 4. Great story - would be suitable for year 2 to year 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 17 May 2009
By 
Olive Ryan "Pink olive" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You will really love this book. It is such a lovely story. I fell in love with it immediately. Theme :- Its ok to be different and people often laugh at things that are different. children will love this story of Camille and they can see many of Van Goghs paintings which are cleverly illustrated in the story . 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Camille, 18 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) (Paperback)
This book worked perfectly as part of my reception class's 'Van Gogh' topic. It includes many of his paintings and focusses on sunflowers, which is the painting we looked at. The story allows children to develop an understanding of the painters emotions and lifestyle. A lovely book, with beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Camille and the sunflowers, 14 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Claire Miller (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) (Paperback)
Beautifully illustrated book with a simple story. Ideal for introducing small children to one of the greatest painters. I have used it to teach art in a primary school and the children have all enjoyed the story and found it inspirational for creating "Van Gogh style" paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) (Paperback)
My 7 year old daughter took this book home from school and we enjoyed reading it so much I decided to get her a copy of her own. Beautiful pictures in the style of Van Gogh and a sensitive telling of his life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists)
Camille and the Sunflowers (Anholt's Artists) by Laurence Anholt (Paperback - 20 Oct. 2003)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews