Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2008
This is a very useful book, with clear and precise information about the species it covers.

My only 'but' is that it is heavily biased towards alcaline gardening, while there are many places in the Mediterranean that are quite acid.

I would like the book to be larger, to have more photos and, especially, to cover more trees: given enough water (and the right way) the number of species one can cultivate in summer-dry regions is quite surprising.

The photos are very good, but they do not cover every species, and there are several ideas that may be useful for gardeners and even architects.

Overall a good buy.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
A superb book that is easy to read and contains information on 'real' mediterranean gardening. The author is a genuine authority on the aspects of mediterranean plants and garden features (Hugo Latymer owned his own nursery/garden centre in Mallorca).

The plant guides, garden features and designs are real, not ideas that have been transplanted into UK gardens.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
So often 'how to' books on gardening pad out the text with plant lists, information which is available from other, more complete reference books. However in Hugo Latymer's book the lists are more inspired, including a section on palms, and show he has real experience of his subject, not just gleaned from other people's work.

On a couple of points I disagreed (Eleagnus x ebbingei is one of the most common hedging plants in my area; I have found ceanothus does far better with fertiliser) but that may just be a slight difference in location.

Mr Latymer's practical experience shines out on every page with a useful section on watering systems. I read his book with respect for someone who wants to impart his knowledge for the sheer love of plants and gardens in a challenging climate.

The photographs are well chosen for relevance to the text and in themselves are an inspiration.

This book is now an esential part of my gardening library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
I've read it before and it is a good read and identifies many of the plants I come across in Turkey. I also use Gildemeister.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
This book has no real substance. Generalises in styling your garden to look like a mediterranean garden not
in how to Garden for the Mediterranean. Guess what all the plant suppliers aren't even around the Mediterranean!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2016
I bought this book for inspiration whilst designing a small town garden. The book gives a good overall idea of the elements of Mediterranean gardens, some nice images, a good list of plants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Purchased this for my daughter, who lives in Turkey. She has just built a house and is using this book to produce a lovely garden. The book is easy to read and the pictures are beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
A really useful book. I bought this for someone who enjoys gardening and is moving from the North of England to Menorca. This has helped them to plan what they will do with the new garden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
A great book with lots of useful information and some very nice photos. It only gets 4 not 5 as it does not mention all of the plants I would like - however it is only a small book. It is also very good for finding out what is wrong with plants which look a bit sick. I moved to Spain 4 years ago and am having to learn how to garden all over again - different plants, different climate, different challenges.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
V useful and so easy to use. Now we have an idea if what should be possible on our " rustico"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)