Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 11 Aug 2006
By 
Fariborz (Bundaberg, Australien) - See all my reviews
I have just finished reading this book for a third time! and the more i read it,the more i enjoy it.

this masterpiece has revolutioned my life. not only recommended for true seekers of God,but also for anyone who would want to make the most of his or her life on this planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent translation of a masterpiece of Persian and Sufi thought, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally translations of poetry from one language to another end up losing the beauty of the original language. the authors have done an excellent job of making sure that some of the original beauty is preserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 27 July 2013
A must read for every individual trying to further themselves spiritually. The way the author has used birds as an example for human traits was a genius idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fariduddin Attar was someone who truly understood the path to God and it shows in this book. For those on the path this book is perfect and will help clear things up for you. It has such a deep meaning and the beauty of it touches your heart. This is one of those books whereby no matter how many times you read it, you will still enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of Sufis, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Ivan Dias "vanyagrozny" (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Classic of Sufis in an handy edition with all the explanations and introductions one needs to get inside the Simorgh Tale. Top!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely read, 5 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is lovely its certainly a book to digest and savour slowly and reflect on its meaning. Great for anyone searching deeper meanings on life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conference of the Birds, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was not what I expected - I was recommended this book as I study practical philosophy - it was very cleverly written and the poetry was so beautiful in parts and each one conveys a message.

Recommended if you like anything written by Rami, Persian poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a classic of wisdom, 5 Mar 2006
This book is a guide to life and people, our mistakes, our vanities, our hypocricy, our struggles, our virtues and all else that makes up a human character, that can be read again and again. It's an absolute classic and highly recommended to anyone interested in Sufism - in fact on that level it's essential reading. But recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 22 Jan 2010
By 
F. Salaam (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read the book many times over and still feel fresh when I read it. It is very inspiring, very nice to hear. It is very well rhymed without loosing its profound meaning. It gives me relief in times of feeling heavy in this world and makes me aspire to the spiritual life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of Persian culture, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Spilsbury (UK, Liverpool) - See all my reviews
A Persian Sufi and Physician of Neishapur in Iranian Khorasan of the 12th century, Attar's masterpiece is the Conference of the Birds.
In allegorising the seeker's journey to God, Attar makes use of a convening of birds as the mechanism for describing this journey in search of a King, led by their spiritual guide the Hoopoe. Gradually on their journey the seekers falter, proffering very human weaknesses and excuses, only to be admonished and chided by the sagely Hoopoe. Without spoiling the end, the search for the King results in a simple and profoundly beautiful self realisation of Unity. 'Tawhid' - the Divine Unity. The translation of over 4000 lines is on a par with AJ Arbery of the Mathsnawi.

It is an excellent path into the deep and profoundly rich culture of Persia, that in contemporary times has been overshadowed by the Arab and Subcontinental worlds, but to this day remains as influential on its neighbours culturally and spiritully. It is no coincidence that Monotheism was born out of the Zoroastrian creed, Bogimilism entered the Balkan from Persia, Bahai'ism and Nestorian Christianity are also Persian exports, with Shi'ism so influential in the Middle East and now Sufism exemplified by the works of Rumi, igniting interest in Eastern Mysticism on a global scale.
To neglect Persian cultures influence is to miss so much, and this book is a little gem of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Conference of the Birds: Extracts from Attar's Sufi Classic (Sacred Wisdom)
Used & New from: £6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews