Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational recipes and pictures
The World Food Cafe book brings together much of the best regional vegetarian cooking from around the world with beautiful photographs and simple to follow recipes. I have cooked a number of the recipes and really enjoyed the result, and having visited the Indian subcontinent have enjoyed recreating local dishes.
A small word of warning: some of the recipes contain...
Published on 25 April 2003

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do buy...but be warned.
I heard nothing but great and almighty things about this cookbook so brought it on a total whim hoping to create wonderful masterpieces... however as great as the recipes were i found they were sometimes too vague and instructions unclear at times. I also upon further research found the recipes to be lacking in certain traditional key ingredients easily brought at the...
Published on 3 Aug 2011 by Jessius101


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational recipes and pictures, 25 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
The World Food Cafe book brings together much of the best regional vegetarian cooking from around the world with beautiful photographs and simple to follow recipes. I have cooked a number of the recipes and really enjoyed the result, and having visited the Indian subcontinent have enjoyed recreating local dishes.
A small word of warning: some of the recipes contain what might be considered rather exotic ingredients by your local supermarket (a pinch of Hing anyone?). However, if you live an area where you can access 'ethnic' food shops that shouldn't pose a problem - and might in fact open your eyes to the delights of avoiding the mainstream supermarkets.
If you enjoy cooking, and have a taste for travel and 'ethnic' food, this book is a delight. Put away bottled sauces and get cooking. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely vegetarian world-view, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Lilyfae (West Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
I purchased this book on a whim but it proved to be a good one. This book is a blend of travel, food and social commentary as we hear tales of how they got to places and the people they met there. Just looking at the pages can give some escapism from the dreary British weather!

I liked the way that the authors tackled locations that are not already plundered for recipes, instead looking for new recipes and how different people in exotic locations eat good wholesome food that is largely accessable by us back here.

It was interesting especially to read the Caribbean section which although they admitted was largely a meat-eating cuisine, they could still find vegetarian dishes or ways to easily replace the meat in the local recipes.

I have to say that some (not all) of the recipes are more dinner-party/'feeling special and brave' choices, and that I was disappointed that the recipes have a standard serving of 6, which although good for a wholly vegetarian big family or dinner party, it really means maths or leftovers for me as I live in a veggie-hostile environment!!!

That said, the recipes are delicious, exciting and the authors refuse to rely on one cooking method or ingredient as I have seen in lesser books, wholly worth it even if it is for when I feel brave in the kitchen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and delicious - brings back memories of my own travels and the desire for new ones!, 15 Feb 2007
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
I absolutley love this book - so much that I keep giving it as a gift and reccomending it to friends over and over again. I've travelled through many of the countries in the book and the writers tales of how they came across each dish really bring back memories of my own adventures and the desire for new ones! It's essentially a culinary travelogue. Also fantastic are their vegetarian adaptions of classically meat dishes which I was unable to try on my travels as I'm vegetarian but can now attempt at home. The photographs of the locations and the food are inspiring and the recipes easy to follow. I've used the book for casual meals and dinner parties alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to the eye and tum., 14 May 2003
By 
Mr. Paul S. Bird "dagadadagada" (Aylesbury) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
Whilst I am not a vegetarian, I do like my food to taste as good as it can. Nestled snugly above Neal's Yard, near Covent Garden in London, is the small and friendly World Food Cafe. After first attending their mighty benches on a whim, I discovered the tasty treats that lurked within were good. Many more visits were made to the Cafe, and many chums were also converted. The food was always great - the menu is a shapeshifting entity, changing from visit to visit depending on what is cooking, making each meal a voyage of discovery. I've yet to discover something there that didn't go down with contented slurps.
So, overjoyed was I when I noticed this book. Simply put, this publication is a must-have. Every recipe is exciting, every page covered with wonderful photography or anecdotes. All the meals are fairly simple to cook, although some require a little preparation. Some may be daunted by the long list of ingredients, but do please note that many of these are, in fact, spices and so-on. Once you've stocked your cupboard up, you will giggle like a happy baboon as your dearest chums swoon at your culinary genius. For us in the UK, most of the items will be fairly easy to track down in your local Supermarket - having said that, one or two may require searching for Asian shops.
I do like this book - I know not everyone will like it quite as much due to the emphasis on the more spicey end of the market. For those with tastebuds that work, though, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic mouth watering delight!, 31 July 2002
This review is from: World Food Cafe (Hardcover)
With the simplest of standard cupboard ingredients, the recipes in this book are by far the best I have seen in a vegetarian cook book. The photos accompanying many of the recipes are sheer delight and while reading the writers notes on where and how they came across the recipes ensure you either want to travel to experience the taste or get your pots and pans out and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vegetarian "Around the world in 80 days!", 14 Nov 2012
By 
KAREN PINCHBECK (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
.........Or recipes, maybe. Anyhow - this book has inspired many a fun evening themed around the cuisine of a particular country or continent. The Caldicotts have taken recipes which are traditionally meaty, and veggie'd them up marvellously, whilst some of the recipes are traditionally vegetarian anyhow. There is lots of variety and plenty of recipes bursting with exciting and fresh flavours, and unexpected combinations. I particularly recommend the African Sweet Potatoes - A sauce based on tomatoes, peanuts and pineapple juice which makes the taste buds dance with joy!

A real breath of fresh air, and a recommended purchase for the vegetarian who wants to move on from nut roast, bean stews etc.

A splendid book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously illustrated and inspiring world food book, 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: World Food Cafe (Hardcover)
I loved this book. A joy. ....Better food and better looking than than many of the recently hyped cookery books. A hidden gem!!!...Cant wait to see the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 18 April 2009
By 
SM (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book to vegetarians and meat eaters alike! I'm not a vegetarian, but have really enjoyed cooking the tasty veggie meals and experimenting with different flavours from around the world. It is an excellent book, with great photography and a variety of easy to follow recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love this book. There are LOTS of fabulous recipes. Never get bored of the great flavours created by this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect vegetarian cookbook, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Food Café (Paperback)
full of delicious recipes, mainly easy to find ingredients and simple to make.
exciting and impressive to have something a little different to present at a dinner party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Food Café
The World Food Café by Carolyn Caldicott (Paperback - 9 May 2002)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews