Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2013
This book, written mainly with children in mind, can be enjoyed equally well by adults. It contains all the basic information on The Great Man's heroic expedition aboard the Endurance. The book is well written and beautifully illustrated. I bought a copy for myself and have since ordered another two for my daughters. I'm sure they will be read with interest and help to bring home the enormity of Shackleton's achievement, providing inspiration for years to come. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
My class of KS2 children have poured over this all term. They love the lineline in the back and matching the places to the maps etc. It is well written and informative. We bought it with Avoid Joining Shackleton's Polar Edpedition- a great set
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
An excellently written version of the epic journey that fully explains the dangers, bravery etc clearly and concisely to children.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Bought for my 8 year old grandson. When I said it was a true story he stopped what he was doing a nd read it. The next day he asked his mum to read it to him and his 5 year old sister. He lives the maps and pictures
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
I bought this for a Year 4 class to study through 'Talk 4 Writing' literacy session. I found the book to have enough historical accuracy to make it a read with authority that can be further complemented by other texts and documents. The images are well drawn and they can support many writing tasks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
wow! an amazing story. I used it as a shared read and the children were completely engaged. The language used is beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Very good retelling - children were genuinely excited to read this story - useful for our Polar Lands topic at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Story told in simple language for kids. Grandson was enthralled. Part of his school curriculum this year and has been extremely helpful with homework.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Not a particularly strong book but was ok for the topic box when we did Polar Explorers in class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Came very promptly my daughter was really pleased and she used it for school thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.