Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational guide to garden design. Fun, fun, fun!
Robin Williams'books are the best in their genre. In this title, the author thouroghly explains the basics of garden design and offers a multitude of ready-made garden plans, all beautifully illustrated and easily adaptable to any garden, particularly smaller ones. All types of "problem" sites are covered; the triangular plot, the front garden, the very...
Published on 19 July 2000

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure yet
I have purchased four garden books at the same time to give me some ideas on planning my back garden. Of the four this is the one that keeps getting put down. I am sure when I get time to sit with it I will be pleased as it has a lot of detailed pictures [ more for the cottage garden that is not the style I want]
so at the moment I am not sure of my purchase
Published 22 months ago by katie b


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational guide to garden design. Fun, fun, fun!, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
Robin Williams'books are the best in their genre. In this title, the author thouroghly explains the basics of garden design and offers a multitude of ready-made garden plans, all beautifully illustrated and easily adaptable to any garden, particularly smaller ones. All types of "problem" sites are covered; the triangular plot, the front garden, the very narrow plot and the sloping plot. Every possible garden style, as well as examples of special features such as fences, pergolas, steps etc are also featured. The author tries to de- mystify garden design - anyone can do it, and with this book and the million insipirational ideas that come with it, garden design has never been this fun and easy.
I can't say enough good things about this book, every gardener should own one. It's worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy garden design, 12 July 2003
By 
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
This book combined photographs and drawings of gardens, so that anyone wanting to try their hand at design or who have experience of design can use the ideas and implement them in their gardens. I liked the examples of 'long narrow garden' or 'the family garden', which gave colourful drawings of ways to transform and accentuate certain features. It also showed how to draw a garden design, analysing a garden for soil, direction and existing features, etc. At the back of the book are listings of plants that like to grow in certain areas and soil types, etc, which is handy for a quick guide to what will grow in your own garden. I liked this book, and have used it to show my friends how to plan their garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginers, 24 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
This book is brilliant as it is easy to follow and could potentially turn you into a garden designer in a few hours! All basic concepts that render gardens more interesting are revealed. I particularly liked the design strategies engaged to entice visitors to explore every corner of the finished garden. An extensive number of examples are given with detailed designs shown on plan and in perspective.
I spent a lot of money on various books on the subject, only to find out that this was the only book i needed! Unless you want to go into specifics such as pond or water feature construction that is.
Incredible value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but needs more plant names, 15 Jan. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
I'm really pleased with this. It has big sections on every shape of garden - small & square, long & narrow, wide, all around the house, L shape etc. There are several plans for each shape. The section on surveying your garden is particularly well done.
I would prefer more plant suggestions throughout, and there is very little about using colour. However these subjects are covered better by specific books (eg The Gardener's Book of Colour).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 22 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
Beautifully illustrated and very readble book with plenty of ideas and information on planning different types of gardens. The book gives layout plans and guidance for designing your own plot. Only downside is there is little information on including water features in your garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure., 29 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
Buy this book even if you are not in need of ideas-it is a joy to browse through! Beautifully illustrated with photographs and water coloured drawings and with clearly laid out design plans, it is inspirational. There are no lumps of concrete or rusted metal here---just exquisite, traditional, practical gardens for differing situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Garden Planner, 5 May 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Mackinnon (Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
This is a great little book with lovely pictures of lovely gardens - it also has some handy tips about planning your garden - it certainly helped me and gave me some much needed inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Garden Planner, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
The is an excellent book, full of practical advice with clear designs for every garden shape. I bought it as a gift, but will be buying a copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing: simple, concise, to the point, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
This book is what I needed. Explained step by step, what to consider, how to work with what you have and what you dream of. Together with this book I also bought "RHS Encyclopedia of Garden Design" - which is much thicker and bigger and heavier, and not bad, but this one is a real hit with me. A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on this particular subject!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Garden Planner (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend who has just bought a new house with an expanse of sad grass and weeds. She was thrilled with it and started using the planner element immediately...time will tell if the ideas actually work but certainly its an easy to understand and not too complicated to put into action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Garden Planner
The Garden Planner by Robin Williams (Paperback - 5 Mar. 1998)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews