Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best allround crochet book I have
I have ordered many crochet books promising me lots of know how and they sadly failed to live up to expectations. For the knowledge it contains this is the best book on crochet that I have. It is excellent. Lets get the downside out of the way first. It is not a beautiful book - the pages are rough and the drawn diagrams of the basic stitches replace the common...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by Louise K

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is just an old label for 300 crochet stitches
I had been sadly informed that this was a different book, however this book is now currently in print - word for word, page for page, picture for picture as The harmony guides "300 crochet stitches volume 6"
Published on 3 July 2007 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best allround crochet book I have, 10 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I have ordered many crochet books promising me lots of know how and they sadly failed to live up to expectations. For the knowledge it contains this is the best book on crochet that I have. It is excellent. Lets get the downside out of the way first. It is not a beautiful book - the pages are rough and the drawn diagrams of the basic stitches replace the common photography in most instructional books. However they are extremely clear and I believe you could learn how to crochet from this book. However, it is much more than that. It has many stitches all ordered into groups and clear (if old fashioned on black background)) photographs of them all. There are also lots of motifs - squares and otherwise to keep you happy for quite a while. Many of them are very attractive. There are instructions on sewing or joining your motifs or pieces together. All bases are covered - whip stitch, woven stitch and crochet seams. Joining as you go is also here (you may need more on that but many books have nothing - searching online is your best bet for that as there are videos and tutorials). There is also the foundation row crochet method in here - instead of doing a row of chains then a row of crochet into them you crochet straight away without the need for a long chain - called the double base chain in this book. There are charts for the stitches as well as written instructions. This is the same book as the Harmony 300 stitches book (at least as I am led to believe from the authors web page)but an older and also much cheaper version. The new Harmony guide is as far as I am aware not the same. I was going to purchase a newer crochet stitch guide but the photos are clearer in here; the stitches for the most part look very attractive and I believe there is more material overall. It may be old but this book is fantastic. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Just what I was looking for and it is in great condition. Thanks very much. I would recommend this to all those who crochet because there are so many patterns in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is just an old label for 300 crochet stitches, 3 July 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I had been sadly informed that this was a different book, however this book is now currently in print - word for word, page for page, picture for picture as The harmony guides "300 crochet stitches volume 6"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
a classic guide still one of the best on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crochet Book, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Seems very concise it will help me a great deal as I am new to crocheting, very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crochet, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Clear diagrams and good instructions easy to follow. Many different stitches - useful book for a beginner learning to crochet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
Very good and will be so useful. My friend has them and I have been borrowing hers so knew I needed to get my own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
I have quite a few crochet books, and a couple of different stitch books, but even James Walters book contains stitches I have never seen before... Wonderful compendium for both the novice and the accomplished crocheter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
The book was in excellent condition, the cover had faded a little but it was like it was brand new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony crochet stitches, 6 May 2013
By 
B. Singleton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches (Paperback)
This book contains some wonderful information. it is one of those books that you will refer to often more than use all the time. The topics are covered in depth and it is well made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches
"Harmony" Guide to Crochet Stitches by James Walters (Paperback - 1 Oct 1987)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews