Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reminising
I'm very much a London transport man & this book doesn't disappoint. Covers the period I grew up in & when I first ventured into London on my own & discovered routemasters. Great book that covers all aspects of LT's buses ranging from the ever reliable RM,RT & RF types right through the very unreliable years of various merlins,swifts,XA's & DMS's then back to the more...
Published 13 months ago by Mick Walsh

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but nothing new
I had high hopes that this book would provide some surprises, but even though many of the photographs have never been published before the book lacks a 'wow' factor. Some of the reproductions are also of mediocre quality, with blurred or out of focus images included. However, on the plus side for someone like me, who stared using London buses as an 11 year old in 1976, it...
Published 16 months ago by Keith P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but nothing new, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
I had high hopes that this book would provide some surprises, but even though many of the photographs have never been published before the book lacks a 'wow' factor. Some of the reproductions are also of mediocre quality, with blurred or out of focus images included. However, on the plus side for someone like me, who stared using London buses as an 11 year old in 1976, it did kindle plenty of nostalgic memories, both good and not so good.

Also, the author seems to have a very rose tinted view of the period: comments beneath the photographs are littered with phrases extolling the virtues of London Transport in the 70s and 80s, when those of us who actually had to use the service day after day remember it as a dysfunctional and incompetent organisation. I call it the 'dark ages' of London buses, when timetables meant nothing and 30 minute waits for a supposedly high frequency bus route were commonplace. ((Oh the joys of waiting half an hour at Teddington for a 281 to take me home from school...and when one did eventually turn up it was full, or displaying the dreaded "Twickenham Station" instead of Hounslow...) Today, even though the actual vehicles might not be so interesting, I start to get twitchy if I have to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus!

All in all worth borrowing from a library, but only spend your money if you're an avid bus book collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reminising, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
I'm very much a London transport man & this book doesn't disappoint. Covers the period I grew up in & when I first ventured into London on my own & discovered routemasters. Great book that covers all aspects of LT's buses ranging from the ever reliable RM,RT & RF types right through the very unreliable years of various merlins,swifts,XA's & DMS's then back to the more reliable M's & T's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in insider knowledge, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
The photography is satisfactory but to one who has worked in the industry, the book is sadly lacking in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good record of the era but some photos disappoint, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
A good record of the years in question. Brought back many memories. A slight pity that many of the photos used are slightly out of focus, have movement blur, or just aren't that sharp, and are thus of a lesser quality than I am used to seeing in Ian Allen books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book as I always do with every offering from Matt.
One small issue: I would like to have seen more representation from other parts of London to balance out the heavy but still excellent collection of captures which dominates from both Central and South London.
Maybe it'll be balanced out in the next book?
Regardless, it is highly recommended to all those with London Transport connections from this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
I grew up with London Transport and this book is a great
reference point and a nostalgic reminder of my childhood.
Some nice pictures and a lot of information.
Highly recommended for bus enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth purchasing, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Transport 1970-1984 (Hardcover)
They are all very well produced and the story lines in the novels are devious and really enjoyable to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Transport 1970-1984
London Transport 1970-1984 by R C Riley (Hardcover - 21 Mar 2013)
22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews