Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Railway fan
Having recently got the 2nd edition and impressed with that I thought I'd 'upgrade' and get the 3rd edition. Although it's just an updated version from the 2nd edition it good see the format and easy to understand style has not changed. Although many books talk about the London Railway network no book has gone to great lengths to plot and show extensively the track layout...
Published 22 months ago by donrajah

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous work, flawed by poor paper
There is nothing I can add to previous comments about this labour of love from Joe Brown and the wealth of data on every page.
Greatly expanded from the previous editions it contains more and more minutiae making it a masterwork of the History of London's Railways as well as a cartographic record.
Sadly and unlike previous editions the publisher seems to have...
Published 22 months ago by Ian Royston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous work, flawed by poor paper, 11 Sep 2012
By 
Ian Royston (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
There is nothing I can add to previous comments about this labour of love from Joe Brown and the wealth of data on every page.
Greatly expanded from the previous editions it contains more and more minutiae making it a masterwork of the History of London's Railways as well as a cartographic record.
Sadly and unlike previous editions the publisher seems to have gone for a cheaper poorly coated paper leaving some of the detailed printing - of which there is a great deal - indistinct and lacking in depth. Shame on you, Ian Allan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Railway fan, 18 Sep 2012
By 
donrajah (Hollywood, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
Having recently got the 2nd edition and impressed with that I thought I'd 'upgrade' and get the 3rd edition. Although it's just an updated version from the 2nd edition it good see the format and easy to understand style has not changed. Although many books talk about the London Railway network no book has gone to great lengths to plot and show extensively the track layout which is weaved into the world famous London city.

It becomes apparent quickly that the author and his team must have spent thousands of hours on research, designing and compiling this book as it has a wealth of information. From the track layout it goes deeper showing the platforms, sidings and also the more private areas such as the vast depots scattered around the Underground.

The book aims to deliver factual information and does so beautifully.

Raj Kukadia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
Firstly, paper/print quality:-
Fears aroused by references to poor print/paper quality have proven largely unfounded, as far as I'm concerned. There is nothing wrong with the paper. Yes, if I look through a jeweller's eyepiece I can see fine "spotting" in and around the print, making it appear a little soft; but only at great magnification. To the naked eye (even with a regular magnifying glass) it is as clear and easy to read as any detailed text printed using the normal "four-colour half-tone process".

To the book itself:-
I can add little to previous praise for what is a stupendous achievement. The author has managed to combine full but clear details of current, historic and proposed layout, such as to give the reader great insight into the development of the railway in the greater London area.

Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
I've been looking for maps showing all London's rail network for some time. This is just what I wanted. It shows all London's Underground and surface lines with landmarks (river, canal and road) to aid location. There is considerable historical detail and some detail on future developments. An excellent reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extensive in depth research. Poor quality printing., 25 Dec 2012
By 
David B (South Norfolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
The author is to be highly congratulated on the enormous amount of detailed research poured into this volume. Considerable improvements since the previous edition include greater geographical coverage, greater detail and dates showing day and month.
Alas, the quality of printing is below standard compared with previous editions. The text and graphics is not as sharp as it should be and close inspection reveals a fine spray of red ink dots surrounding the data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars london railatlas 3rd edition, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
suberb atlas with mush work gone into producding it. Well worth the money to anyone who has the remotist intrest in railways of London. All lines included with opening/closing dates with future projects included. I am a very satified S.HEWITT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High standard, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
Detailed and well researched, but easy to follow. Cleverly identifies present and past railway layouts with expanded pages covering the more complex areas..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost, but not quite....., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
I've all three editions of Joe Brown's "London Rail Atlas" and each has built on the one before.

The first edition didn't show individual track layouts, apart from the enlarged sections. Hence double track was shown by a thick line, single by a thin one. What it did clearly illustrate though, was the geographical juxtaposition of underground and overground lines in the capital.

The second edition, in a larger format, introduced individual track layouts, though in complex locations these weren't always totally accurate.

This latest edition has over 20 extra pages of maps/enlargements and brings the story up-to-date. Actually beyond, for some of the track layouts show the situation after completion of Cross-Rail in 2018. Dates are now given (where known) in full, rather than to the year as in previous editions.

However the quality of the paper has declined and it can be quite difficult to see some of the detail; particularly the disused lines. I feel for the author as he's obviously put a lot of effort into adding all this extra detail.

There are some errors in track layouts and I'm not sure if this format can quite give the detail of those maps previously produced by the Quail Map Company. For example, Waterloo is drawn so small that not all the crossings and slip points are shown (something that Quail also got wrong to be honest). Also the layout of Charing Cross includes at least one error, but now I'm nit-picking.

I look forward to the 4th edition, hopefully on decent paper and with slightly clearer (and accurate) track layouts of each of the main termini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 28 Jan 2013
By 
billt (Winchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
I loved the first and second editions but the expansion to A4 size was inspirational. So much historical information contained with such clarity. A true masterpiece. I just love browsing through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A boon to all lovers of track diagram-iania, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Railway Atlas 3rd edition (Hardcover)
I bought this because I always wanted to know how all London's line linked up. Little did I know that both me and my two 5-year old sons would be absorbed in the minutiae for hours. Beautifully researched- well done. Only gripe- 4th edition please include narrow/miniature gauge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Railway Atlas 3rd edition
London Railway Atlas 3rd edition by Joe Brown (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2012)
7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews