Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm's best yet., 11 July 2012
By 
Mr. G. J. Kelland "Ailsa Fan" (Dumfries & Galloway Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
I have waited patiently for this book for almost seven months and can honestly say that the wait was well worthwhile. The book details the development of the bus services within the City of Birmingham between 1925 and 1975 in great detail and also includes services run by operators other than Birmingham City Transporyt, a detail the publishers failed to mention in their pre-publication blurb. The text is expertly written and the photographic coverage is wideranging although, understandably, biased towards the later years where numerous superb colour shots illustrate the story. Like the previous reviewer I no longer reside in Birmingham and this title is instant nostalgia for a fondly remembered past both inside and outwith the industry. To conclude buy this book whether you are a Brummie or not, you will not be disappointed. Looking forward to Mr Keeley next effort, each one just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating trawl through bus transport in Birmingham during the middle years of the 20th Century, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
Malcolm Keeley has authored a number of excellent books on the subject of public transport in an around the Birmingham area during the 20th century. This one is no exception. Instead of a chronological history of the vehicles, the book has been organised by the routes, starting at 1, ending at 99, that would have been seen on the streets if Birmingham during the years featured in the title. As ever the photographic content is excellent, there are a few repeats from earlier volumes (usually to illustrate rare routes) but there also many previously unseen examples, both in monochrome and in colour, featuring rarely seen shots of the 91J or the 36K for example!

The book doesn't end there though. There is a healthy dose of Midland Red information towards the end of the book, and a specific chapter featuring the lively scene in Kingstanding where buses from Walsall, West Bromwich and the private operator Harper could also be seen, as well as the ubiquitous Birmingham City Transport vehicles.

Highly recommended to transport buffs and also local West Midland historians.

**Worth an additional mention is the fabulous high quality colour photography of Derek Potter, photographs taken typically in the early sixties, a must for any Brum historian whether interested in the transport aspect or not! **

Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite book, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
Unfortunately some of the book descriptions by Ian Allan do not accurately describe the contents. This is no exception. I wasn't expecting so much colour content or so much on Midland Red routes - what a bonus
My previous favourite book was the 1970's TPC book on BCT written by various authors including one M Keeley.
Malcolm, like me lives in Shirley and I was surprised when my wife hired a bus from Wythall for my 60th birthday to find that the conductor was the great man himself. He was just as interesting in the flesh as on the page
If you are interested in buses buy this book = it's a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
Highly recommended - it brought back memories of my younger days when everything in the bus world seemed so certain. Excellent photos and interesting text as Malcolm Keeley always provides./
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice for Birmingham Bus enthusiast, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book, a must have for any birmingham bus enthusiast. I was somewhat shocked by the amount of pictures used within this book, many in black & white with a small portion in colour. The information given about each route is very decent, when I read through my most familiar routes I could'nt believe how much the routes have changed in 30 years and how some are barely recognisable from those same routes today. Malcolm Keeley is by far the most prolific author in this region on his local buses, particularly because of his first hand knowledge of the Birmingham area. But not just this, he has produced consistent 'excellent' books in the last few years which leads me to think of what he will produce next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birmingham Buses, 21 Jun 2014
By 
David Grainger (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
As someone who lived just outside the city boundary, my loyalty was with Midland Red buses but I regularly walked to the boundary to catch the "blue and cream" bus. Since the takeover by first West Midlands PTE then National Express, much of the route structure has changed and it was a pleasure to be able to go back to the descriptions of the routes that I knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
Malcolm Keeley has produced yet another excellent book about Birmingham busses. Many first time published photographs and very informative script. thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extra Special for the Bus Guru, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
I chose this rating because the book represents my growing up with buses /I loved the Daimlers / Leyland's &Guys / 1486 was the 1st new bus I saw after the War / it was so beautiful to me / That's why I wanted the book to walk memory lane / well done Malcolm Keeley super super job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive reference of Birmingham's Bus Routes, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
This book will provide me with not only good references about the evolution of Birmingham's Bus Routes but also bring to life how the City was over fifty years; it is really a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as a time machine!, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 (Hardcover)
An excellent well-balanced book which shows BCT and other buses going about their business, as they did so well. Very sharp photographs depict all workings, common and not-so-common.Thoroughly recommended to all who have fond memories of Birmingham's buses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975
Birmingham Buses Route by Route 1925-1975 by Malcolm Keeley (Hardcover - 17 May 2012)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews