Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on worst street
This book will appeal to historians and Ripperologists alike, it is choc-full of interesting facts about the Spitafields area from its earliest days and sheds new light on some of the most notorious individuals to emerge from its streets. The author has adopted a compelling story-telling style which makes the book a real page-turner and not at all text-bookish. If you are...
Published on 11 Sep 2008 by S. HICKS

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so book about Spitalfields
This book is about Spitalfields with a focus on Dorset Street rather than being about Dorset Street per se. If you have never read anything about Spitalfields this is quite a good introduction but if you are looking for a specialist study of Dorset Street this is not the book for you.

At times the book feels padded. That an inhabitant of Dorset Street might...
Published on 19 July 2009 by shinglma


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on worst street, 11 Sep 2008
By 
S. HICKS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book will appeal to historians and Ripperologists alike, it is choc-full of interesting facts about the Spitafields area from its earliest days and sheds new light on some of the most notorious individuals to emerge from its streets. The author has adopted a compelling story-telling style which makes the book a real page-turner and not at all text-bookish. If you are interested in Jack The Ripper or the origins of the East End gangs then this is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so book about Spitalfields, 19 July 2009
This review is from: The Worst Street in London (Paperback)
This book is about Spitalfields with a focus on Dorset Street rather than being about Dorset Street per se. If you have never read anything about Spitalfields this is quite a good introduction but if you are looking for a specialist study of Dorset Street this is not the book for you.

At times the book feels padded. That an inhabitant of Dorset Street might be involved in criminality leads to a lengthy description of 18th century justice, Newgate, the Hulks and Transportation to Australia.

Its best when describing actualities, real Dorset Street residents, actual lodging houses and the murderous crimes associated with the area.

Its generally well written, quite interesting and reasonably well researched but adds little if you have read other books on the area or Jack the Ripper.

I was amused that another reviewer described it as an academic work. It is not (nor does it claim to be) but instead its a fairly good introduction to the area and a reasonably entertaining read. That it has an introduction by Peter Ackroyd might mislead some in to thinking its on similar level to his own work. However compared to his high standard this falls somewhat short.

Recommended provided you don't set your expectations too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating study, 1 July 2009
By 
RICK (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No, it's not about the traffic around Victoria Station.

This is an excellent approach to exploring the colourful history of a single area of London. In a city where every cobblestone and brick has a tale to tell, THE WORST STREET IN LONDON does a ripping job (sorry, Jack) of detailing the sordid and informative legacy of what would otherwise be considered an "ordinary" street. Anything but! The only thing I missed was perhaps a few more maps or illustrations of the area then... and then... and then... and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully, informative written book, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Worst Street in London (Paperback)
I was very impressed with this book and have recommended it to many of my friends and family. No, I'm not going to loan my copy because I want to read it again. The amount of information in this book is quite staggering and it all beautifully comes together in excellent script. As a keen follower and reader of the 'Jack the Ripper' enquiries, I was very interested to learn how Miller's Court got it's name, Miller Court being where the Ripper's final victim was found slaughtered in the room.
This is one of those books where you read a neat small chapter and think "I'll just read one more" and the next thing you know it's the early hours of the morning. More importantly, the way the book is written and the vivid descriptions given, it is easy to picture the squallor of Dorset Street and the neighbouring streets of Spitalfields and the reader can't help feeling some sorrow for the people who ended up there through no cause of their own. I haven't finished the book yet but I was so moved by what I was reading I just felt I had to write a review and share my wonder with other readers who might be interested in purchasing this item. Highly recommended whether you know the history of the East End of London or not, certainly you will after you've read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The worst street in London, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fiona Rule's detailed account of Dorset the street from it beginning to late 1950 is a masterpiece of not just academic research but entertaining accounts the people living there. Dorset street was made famous, or should that be infamous, as it was site of Jack the Ripper's most gory murder of Mary Kelly. I brought the book to use to research my historical novels that are set in Victorian East London and found myself drawn in by the real-life stories and characters. I would not hesitate in recommending this book to anyone who is has an interest in the East End of London and Whitechapel in particular.

Jean Fullerton No Cure for Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unable to put down, 30 Mar 2009
I read this book in 24 hours as i could not put it down. I wasn't that interested when about Jack the Ripper, but bought this to try and provide some insight into why my family were back and forth to Spitalfields many years ago.

The whole book was fascinating and gave a good insight into social history and the treatment of the poor. Also an insight into early gang culture - perhaps little has changed today. This gave me far more interest that my original intention. It has a walk round modern Spitalfields in the back and would love to try and get down there soon to look round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 12 July 2009
By 
Old Blue Eyes (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Worst Street in London (Paperback)
I read this book cover to cover over a few days. The style is easy to read whilst being informative about this fascinating area of London. I enjoyed the suggested walk at the back of the book, even though I am familiar with the area Fiona Rule had provided information that I had not previously known, so I looked at the area through "fresh eyes".
Some text books can leave me cold in their style & I tend to dip in & out, but this book managed to keep me rivetted.
Another book to be recommended about this area is 18 Folgate Street by Dennis Severs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Street in London, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. John Thompson "john80c" (Otley,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Worst Street in London (Paperback)
The tragic history of Dorset Street in London's East End. Very sad lives of the people in the days before benefits. Also was the street where two of Jack the Ripper's victims lived. Very well written and illustrated by Fiona. Please buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book which captures the life of Dorset st Whitechapel. I would recommend this book to others for a history of Whitechapel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating history of Dorset Street, and Spitalfields, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Worst Street in London (Paperback)
Spitalfields in the 17thC was the centre of the Silk weaving industry, and basically this is the history of its downward spiral until in the 19thC the area became infamous for criminality, lawlessness and it's connection with the Ripper. Along the way we discover much about the location and it's famous personalities, how people lived and died and made money, and the terrible living conditions for most of the local population. A great book for dipping into, full of anecdotes and surprising facts, it prompted me to take a more in depth discovery of the history of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Worst Street in London
The Worst Street in London by Fiona Rule (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews