Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many things I wish I knew before!, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Jessie G. Knowles "jess16466" (Hampshire , uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
This book is a storehouse of treasures. Firstly the format of the book is well designed and the many illustrations are delightful. The sketches and step by step tutorials are very useful and beautiful presented. However, for me the most interesting element of the book is the way Ms Maugy deals with colour. Her careful research and personal knowledge informs the reader about the history, qualities and uses of a wide range of pigments/paints. The writing style is erudite and informative but has personal touches and humour that keeps it accessible. The content really does contain many things I wish I knew before and already I find myself returning to it regularly. I am very glad I bought it and hope Ms Maugy goes on to write further books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent teacher!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
MC d'Ath (Worthing, W Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
I love this book! I attended a short course taught by Sandrine last July and found her to be an expert teacher and a talented, sensitive botanical painter. I longed to review her method and here it is in clear detail. I find especially helpful her instructions for transferring an original drawing to watercolour paper and also her method of mixing grey for shadows and painting them in first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for every Watercolourist., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
I found this book full of great information on the properties of watercolor paints, and their application to Botanical Art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
I am a beginner in Botannical Painting and found this book a good starting point. An excellent book for every student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 20 May 2013
By 
Angela Cox (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
This book will be an invaluable source of reference for colour and colour theory for botanical painters, especially relatively inexperienced ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ideas, 13 May 2013
By 
J. Hurley (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
This book is quite different from many botanical painting books. Sandrine has some interesting and probably quite original ideas on transparency, toxicity, and shadow mixing. She uses a different shadow mix for every different subject, based on the primary colours she is using for that subject. Her paintings are a real delight to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dictionary for the Botanical Artist., 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
A beautiful book, so helpful for those people studying botanical art .An inspiration! This book solved alot of problems with every aspect from beging to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colours of Nature, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
Having attended one of Sandrine's courses, I was keen to get her book and I am absolutely delighted with the result. Of all the Botanical books I have, hers is the most informative when it comes to colours and the mixing of same. Have almost finished reading it and it only arrived this morning, stopped half way through to mix a colour I had been pondering over for quite a while and am thrilled with the result. Well done Sandrine, a wonderful book which deserves to be on any artist's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting, 15 April 2013
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
I have just finished reading the Colours of Nature from cover to cover, the first time I have ever done this with a book of this type. The author's ability to convey the historical background to the different pigments and their chemical make-up in an informative yet highly readable way was just mesmerising. Now I will go back and absorb the content in greater depth. Sandrine Maugy has a unique attitude to her painting based on her deep love of the flowers she paints, and in this book she explains clearly how she produces her results. She begins with the shadows as these create the form of the flower, using a grey made from three primaries which she will then use later for the flower in question. Thus every shadow has a different nuance and is in harmony with the colours used. These are carefully chosen from the colour wheel so that their bias will produce a bright or a muted result. She explains further that to avoid 'mud' one should try not to mix more than two colours together that are themselves made from a single pigment.
The descriptions and advice are accompanied by beautiful reproductions of Sandrine's work and pages from her sketch book. In general, this book is an inspiration to improve ones own painting, a joy to read and a pleasure to own. It would make an invaluable addition to any painter's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Botanical painting, 15 April 2013
By 
Joan Delamore "Mary J" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting (Hardcover)
I have read previous articles in the Artist & Illustrator magazine by this author and have enjoyed them. Her book is very well laid out and I have found the comparisons of the watercolour paints very helpful. The tutorials are good and so is the advice on mixing shadow colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting
Colours of Nature: Botanical Painting by Sandrine Maugy (Hardcover - 29 Mar 2013)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews