Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a decent guide for crime writers based on English practices and procedures.
After searching fruitlessly for years I found this little gem.
There are any number of guides based on US law and procedures but precious few on English law and fewer still that are up to date.
Michael's book is an excellent reference guide for writers to ensure your "writer's license" doesn't stray too far from facts but, as a bonus, it is also an absorbing...
Published on 6 May 2009 by A. Rice

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition
Up-to-date non-US books for crime-writers are thin on the ground so I welcomed finding this. It's engagingly written, clear and the writer obviously has first-hand experience. Just a few quibbles - it focuses almost entirely on murder investigation processes and not all crime stories are murder mysteries; legal proceedings in court aren't covered. Otherwise an interesting...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Clarky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a decent guide for crime writers based on English practices and procedures., 6 May 2009
By 
A. Rice (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
After searching fruitlessly for years I found this little gem.
There are any number of guides based on US law and procedures but precious few on English law and fewer still that are up to date.
Michael's book is an excellent reference guide for writers to ensure your "writer's license" doesn't stray too far from facts but, as a bonus, it is also an absorbing read in its own right.
Anecdotes and case histories are included as examples but it doesn't sink into the mire of just being an autobiography.
Michael sets out to write a guide we can all use and he succeeds in spades. A must for every crime writer's reference book shelf. Look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a proper reference book for writers, 13 Jun 2009
By 
S. N. Payne (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
After trawling through many books on police procedures (which usually end up being based on the US system), I was looking forward to the release of this which I saw advertised on Amazon. I have not been disapointed as it is a pleasure to read; not just as a reference book but as an interesting non-fictional book. Obviously the author has credibility and it is written in a clear style, with the technical language being used without it suffocating the reader. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the british police force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 25 May 2009
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
This book is a well written and well organised overview of how the UK police force operates.
You can tell it was penned by someone who knows what they're talking about. Highly recommended for people who want to know the parameters a modern police force has to stay within and still secure a safe conviction.
Absolutely indispensable in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
This is a fantastic little book for anyone who is writing crime scenes...not just detective novels but anything involving police in general. It provides everything you need to know from police structures to how forensics operate and I found it a massive help. I thought I would have to get arrested myself in the name of research to find out what goes on, but thank god I found this book!!
The author writes in a really easy going style so it's easy to understand, and each section is short but succinct, giving you enough of an overview to furnish your writing. I love the way he points out where detective shows, and Dan Brown, have got it wrong as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Clarky (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
Up-to-date non-US books for crime-writers are thin on the ground so I welcomed finding this. It's engagingly written, clear and the writer obviously has first-hand experience. Just a few quibbles - it focuses almost entirely on murder investigation processes and not all crime stories are murder mysteries; legal proceedings in court aren't covered. Otherwise an interesting read that gave me a couple of new ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. E. A. Penney (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
I usually write comedy but am currently writing a psychological thriller screenplay and this book gives enough factual information on police procedure to make any script, or book, realistic. Nothing worse than totally unrealistic scenarios to make the scene 'jar' as the author himself puts it. It is also not too technical and is easy to read. A good reference book for the writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime Writers Reference, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
Really useful little book. Tends to cover the more obvious things people write about - ie murder, but is extremely useful at answering basic questions that would otherwise be hard to find answers to without bothering your local force! Simple things that need to be right, like what rank of officer would attend a particular type of crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for crime fictions writers and the curious, 1 July 2010
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
This is a must-buy if you want to write about English police procedure, or even if you just want to know how it all happens. It's written in a clear, concise manner to a good standard. It is easy and interesting to read, leaning towards narrative non fiction rather than encyclopaedia. I can't believe that Amazon don't stock this book as standard - they should. It's the only book on the market that does the job properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 7 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
This is a really excellent book. Clearly written and structured and easy to understand. The experience of the writer shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference guide for crime writers., 18 May 2009
By 
Y. Hughes (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure (Paperback)
Having attended a course for crime writers run by Michael Obyrne, I keenly awaited the publication of his book and have not been disappointed. It is by my computer as I write my third crime novel. Full of useful and up to date information, I recommend all writers wanting to involve any sort of crime into their novel to make sure they have a copy.

The in depth information has allowed me to take my novel in a different direction at a time of writer's block.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure
The Crime Writer's Guide to Police Practice and Procedure by Michael O'Byrne (Paperback - 30 April 2009)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews