Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An expert guide for anyone and everyone who writes poetry
I wish this book had been available many, many years ago. Reading 'Poetry Writing: the expert guide' has made me aware of just how naive my own attempts at writing poetry have been. This is the most wonderful guidebook with a text that is so rich and enjoyable I decided to postpone all the exercises the author suggests so that I could quickly move on and reach the...
Published on 24 Oct. 2009 by P. Wilkin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
I didn't think this was very good
Published 8 months ago by Mark Hutchinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An expert guide for anyone and everyone who writes poetry, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
P. Wilkin (Keighley, W Yorks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
I wish this book had been available many, many years ago. Reading 'Poetry Writing: the expert guide' has made me aware of just how naive my own attempts at writing poetry have been. This is the most wonderful guidebook with a text that is so rich and enjoyable I decided to postpone all the exercises the author suggests so that I could quickly move on and reach the end-point of the book.

Having been so stimulated and inspired by the book's content I have now returned to the beginning again, this time to work my way through it slowly and systematically in order to utilize the author's suggestions to try and improve my own poetry.

'Poetry Writing' is such a comprehensive book written by a credible and highly respected prize-winning poet. Starting with the question 'What is poetry', the author goes on to identify and explore all the ingredients necessary to create a poem and, perhaps most importantly, how to combine those ingredients to best effect so that the poem sits and flows like a well-balanced boat in the water.

Whatever level you currently feel to be at - from novice to accomplished/published poet - there is definitely something in this book for everyone. Whilst each chapter aroused and intrigued me, I found the chapters on 'Meter', 'Beat', and 'Register' invaluable and, in particular, the chapter 'On Difficulty, which addresses the issues involved when writing about highly personal and emotional material.

The author's writing style is sagacious and supportive and her love and deep passion for poetry shines so brightly from every page of the text. I can't wait to begin re-working my old poems and birthing new ones in the light of all the insight and realization this marvellous book has already given and continues to give to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I haven't found a better one: really great!, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
There are several very good guides but none beats this one for me. I liked Glyn Maxwell's which is full of originality and strong views - a literary achievement in itself. Eavan Boland's (with Mark Strand) The Making of a Poem is a super guide. The old Teach Yourself by Robin Skelton is still inspiring. But with the advantage of Sampson's incisive style (as in her survey of recent poetic movements) with excellent practical explanations, I tried improving a poem I was working on: I found it was like having the ideal teacher at my elbow and felt it was improving what I could produce. It's a book I have already been able to dip into again to find advice on areas and look forward to reading it through again. Definitely buy it. Dare I mention Homer nodded? .Page 187 mentions Chaucer's Tristan and Isolde: I haven't read all Chaucer but did this refer to Troilus and Criseyde? And page 171 shouldn't Auden/ Isherwood's Letters from Iceland be Auden/MacNeice? Being picky, do you patch up with WD-40? (Page 147). And surprising that Shakespeare's sonnet "Shall I compare thee" is to a girl (Page 141).Teensy quibbles in a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and informative, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
David Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
This is an easy to read, but extremely helpful book. I have no complaints about it, only compliments. The author treats the reader as an adult whilst appreciating that the reader may be new to poetry, she strikes the perfect balance in speaking to the reader. This should be a part of any poetry fan's book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 26 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
I found this an excellent resource during editing stages, and to give new direction to poems that are faltering in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
It goes into great depth regarding the art of poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
I didn't think this was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide (Hardcover)
Total waste of time and money. Don't have a clue what the other reviewers were talking about. Unclear, wishy washy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide
Poetry Writing: The Expert Guide by Fiona Sampson (Hardcover - 30 Oct. 2009)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews