Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars fishing
Loved every minute of this book and would advise others to read it definately the best angling book I have ever read.
Published 19 months ago by david

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places
Stan is obviously a very good and experienced fly fisher and it is possible to extract numerous valuable pearls from this book. However, his annoying writing style means that you have to work hard to extract this information.
He does not write well enough to adopt his conversational tone and a simpler more factual approach would have been more effective. A good...
Published on 14 Oct 2005 by Philip G. Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Philip G. Griffiths "phelpe" (Newcastle, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stan is obviously a very good and experienced fly fisher and it is possible to extract numerous valuable pearls from this book. However, his annoying writing style means that you have to work hard to extract this information.
He does not write well enough to adopt his conversational tone and a simpler more factual approach would have been more effective. A good editor could have shortened this book and made it a much better read.
To descibe the book as a loch fishers 'bible' is to overstate things. It is more of personal view based on years of experience.
Stan has some annoying prejudices about people from south of the border and their inability to cope with the climatic conditions in Scotland.
A few maps of the region would have been more useful than some the mediocre photgraphs
Despite my negative tone there is much to be learnt form this book and I would recommend it to anyone planning a fly fishing trip to the Scottish lochs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lcoh Fishing 'Bible"?, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
This man's style is awful, it will grate on you within a few pages. I have hundreds of fishing books and wiothout a doubt this one annoys me the most! Stay away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On on the sixth day, he fished., 25 Aug 2006
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
Welcome to the Gospel according to Stan. This book was a revelation! Hah. I used to fish rivers but had a road to damascus moment! Buy this book and it will be the genisis of many an enjoyable day...

OK thats all the puns out of the way.

Stan Headley knows his trout fishing onions, no doubt, and this is an invaluable book for anyone hitting the lochs. Its certainly a lot more attractive in paperback than the ludicrously priced hardback. That said, the author stamps a lot of his own personality on the book, along with all the valuable fishing advice. How to put this...Mr Headley's personality won't be to everybody's taste. There is a very excellent short book lurking within this long one. I did wonder if I really needed the whole Bible when perhaps a New Testament would have done the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
Couldn't put this down once i had started reading. Lots of good information along with personal stories that illustrate the successes and frustrations of wild brown trout fishing. Don't concern yourself with the reviews about Stan's writing style, I found it to be like having a chat with your mate down the pub which personally I had no issue with. He outlines topics such as leader make up, fly choice, the influence of the weather and light effects and then in the 'Scottish Lochs' section tells stories about his fishing adventures.

I was hoping for a 'Eureka' moment but it would seem that wild brown trout don't play that game and sometimes it is just your luck. I am currently re-reading the sections I found most helpful and interesting as there are some great tips in there.

The book was written a few years ago so we could do with a second edition with some updated sections on the evolution of flies and also the resurgence of some of our best brown trout waters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
Lots of good gen if read carefully as the style tends to be verbose and good info could be missed. I ended up using a highlight pen to mark salient points for ease of future reference. overall I enjoyed the "read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fishing, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
Loved every minute of this book and would advise others to read it definately the best angling book I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Loch Fisher's Bible (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book which has rekindled my enthusiasm for loch fishing for brown trout. The authors enthusiasm for flyfishing and love of the land he fishes for them shines throughout the pages, with plenty of practical tips born from experience thrown in. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Loch Fisher's Bible
The Loch Fisher's Bible by Stan Headley (Paperback - 31 July 2006)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews