Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written must have for the fly-fisherman
A well laid out, well written and easy to dip into 'must have' for fly-fishermen. From details about the fish themselves to patterns and tatics, this book covers many things you need to know and the photographs are superb. I would highly recommend it.
Published on 22 Dec 2003 by Iain Shield

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but not the best
I cannot quite agree with the glowing 5 star reviews for this book. It's not bad, but it's often a bit superficial and tends to fall slightly between two stools in that it is neither basic enough for the beginner nor advanced/different enough to help the more experienced angler.

There are better books on the subject, I think, but YMMV.
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by P. Patten


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written must have for the fly-fisherman, 22 Dec 2003
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
A well laid out, well written and easy to dip into 'must have' for fly-fishermen. From details about the fish themselves to patterns and tatics, this book covers many things you need to know and the photographs are superb. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic river fly fishing book, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. K. Heap - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
I have been a fly fisherman for 57 years now and have read many good books on the sport and this is one of the best. Peter Lapsley is a very experienced fly fisherman and writer and therefore this book is so easy to read. Because Peter is not only an experienced fly fisherman, but also a qualified casting instructor, the book contains so much useful information, instruction and advice even for the more experienced angler. Those new to fly fishing rivers will definately benefit from reading this book. Having only been first published in 2003 it is well up to date with modern techniques and tackle. I recommend you also buy Peter Lapsley's new book "Pocket guide to Matching the Hatch" which is excellent and a must for new and more experienced fly fishers.(this will be reviewed separately)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A professional game angling instructors view, 22 Nov 2003
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Peter Lapsley's book is clearly written and is an easy and very informatative read particularly for any newcomer to game angling. Peter takes the reader carefully through step by step and explains all the necessary information a game angler needs as he progresses along his career in game angling. As a long serving holder of APGAI (Advanced Proffessional Game Angling Instructor)and Vice Chairman of the Association of Advanced Professional Game Angling Instructors I will be recommending "River Fly-Fishing: The Complete Guide" to all our game angling instructors members as the perfect book for them to advise and recommend with confidance to their clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Lapsley's book is worth reading, 11 April 2009
By 
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
I think this book is very worth while. Peter Lapsley gives technical description of river fly fishing. He also has a good literary turn of phrase when it comes to fly fishing and the general run of things. A little like Hugh Falkus. I will probably be re-reading it during each angling season in order to get the best from my time on the water.

It was purchased it at the same time as Terry Lawton's river fly fishing book. It is certainly the better of the two, being more of a reference book than "nice to look at but not much use".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars River Fly Fishing, 15 Jun 2009
By 
Jeremy P. J. Clegg (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
As a keen dry fly fisherman, I've accumulated many books on the subject over the years. Undoubtedly this is the best and most comprehensive book on the subject. Read this book thoroughly and you'll have all the answers to all the questions you're ever likely to ask.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 13 July 2007
By 
Charles Clark (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
An excellent book, well written and beatifully illustrated. Pitched at all levels and useful to every standard, from beginner to expert. Having said that, it is also just a lovely book to have around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and authoritative book, 6 Sep 2003
By 
S. Stapely (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully presented and accessibly written book by one of the country's foremost experts. It has something for everyone and the lovely photographs are a particular delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'must have' fly fishing book, 19 Oct 2009
By 
McIntosh "T" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
No fly fishing library would be complete without Lapsley's books. Whether you're a beginner or a season fly fisher this book is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Excellent book for novice and more experienced fly fisher. Simple stuff like when the season starts and the variance between southern and northern rivers makes this book stand out for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written store of knowledge, 28 May 2010
This review is from: River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide (Hardcover)
Very easy and enjoyable to read. A real store of knowledge and experience. Contains some very useful chapters, such as "Of times and seasons", which I have not seen elsewhere. Keeps things nice and simple (such as a choice of flies and an introduction to entomology). Well illustrated. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide
River Fly-fishing: The Complete Guide by Peter Lapsley (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2003)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews